AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
cfoflynn
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-30-2010
Message 1 of 5 (7,392 Views)

Please Explain PDMODE variable!

7392 Views, 4 Replies
01-14-2011 08:43 AM

I'm running Civil 3D 2008.  Everything was fine until I changed the PDMODE from 0 to 4 (followed instructions online to break a line up into equal sections.) Now all my notes and labels and profile view text have suddenly become very large within my viewport as if they were annotative.  I've checked there properties and they are all set to standard.  I've messed around with annotative scaling within the viewport and it seemed to change the size of the text which doesn't make sense becuase the text is set to standard.  Text with a text height of .1" was showing up in my viewport perfectly, then I messed with the PDMODE variable and it is now huge (but still set to .1")  What gives?

*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,917
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 2 of 5 (7,377 Views)

Re: Please Explain PDMODE variable!

01-14-2011 10:02 AM in reply to: cfoflynn

As far as I know the PDMODE only changes the display of an AUTOCAD POINT, i.e., whether it is a point, a cross, etc.  So something else is causing your problems.

 

Bill

 

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,123
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 3 of 5 (7,366 Views)

Re: Please Explain PDMODE variable!

01-14-2011 10:41 AM in reply to: wfberry

Correct Bill and some Marker style use acad points.

 

For the OP if you aer dividing an entity and do not want to upset the cart by changing PDMODE, create a block in your template specifically for this task and when you use the divide or measure command select the block option on the command line and use your dedicated block or anyother that may suit your needs

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,100
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 4 of 5 (7,360 Views)

Re: Please Explain PDMODE variable!

01-14-2011 11:10 AM in reply to: cfoflynn

You can use the DDPTYPE command to check both the size and style for the points. But like others I can't see how PDMODE would affect the display of text.

 

Allen

New Member
juan.garcia
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-28-2012
Message 5 of 5 (6,190 Views)

Re: Please Explain PDMODE variable!

06-05-2012 10:41 AM in reply to: cfoflynn

Regenarate and they will again be in a normal size.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!