AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
mhvam06
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-17-2013
Message 1 of 5 (194 Views)

Pipes: Continue drawing a pipe from the existing elevation of another pipe?

194 Views, 4 Replies
02-18-2014 02:27 AM

Hello everyone!

 

Is it possible to draw a new pipe from another pipes elevation that has already been drawn?

 

When I draw pipes using Network Layout Tools it creates a Null structure in which the elevation of the new pipe is higher than the connecting pipe.

 

I have tried adding the rule "Pipe to Pipe Match" with the following:

Match Location: Centerline

Drop Value: 0

 

But it is still not spot on even though the pipes are the same dimensions. For some reason it is 6 mm off...

 

I think it's a bit annoying that I have to create a profile view of the pipes and structure in order it change the pipes to the correct elevation. Using pipe properties is unfortunately not accurate enough.

 

All the best!

Mike

Mentor
kcobabe
Posts: 833
Registered: ‎07-02-2002
Message 2 of 5 (171 Views)

Re: Pipes: Continue drawing a pipe from the existing elevation of another pipe?

02-18-2014 08:53 AM in reply to: mhvam06

Go into the structure properties->connected pipes tab-> Select a pipe and right click-> Select the match you want.

R10 - 2014 ACAD, 2008 - 2014 Civil 3D, 2010 - 2014 MEP, V8i - V8i SS3 Microstation, ArcMAP
Contributor
mhvam06
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-17-2013
Message 3 of 5 (159 Views)

Re: Pipes: Continue drawing a pipe from the existing elevation of another pipe?

02-19-2014 12:59 AM in reply to: kcobabe
Thank you very much for your solution kcobabe!

I does make it a lot quicker than the before mentioned create alignment,
profile and then change to connections.

However if there are a quicker and a solution using fewer clicks I would
be glad to hear it!

As of now I will stick with kcobabe's solution.

Thank you!
Mentor
kcobabe
Posts: 833
Registered: ‎07-02-2002
Message 4 of 5 (146 Views)

Re: Pipes: Continue drawing a pipe from the existing elevation of another pipe?

02-19-2014 02:55 PM in reply to: mhvam06

For the most part having a good set of rule definitions help a lot.  There is another tricky way to do it.  If you are a 3D kind of person you can grip edit in 3D.  I have one word of caution though, Save Often, C3D even though the name suggest 3D it's still not a true CAM/BIM modeler.  So it hates working in a true 3D presentation.  Crash crash crash craaaaaash!!

R10 - 2014 ACAD, 2008 - 2014 Civil 3D, 2010 - 2014 MEP, V8i - V8i SS3 Microstation, ArcMAP
Contributor
mhvam06
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-17-2013
Message 5 of 5 (131 Views)

Re: Pipes: Continue drawing a pipe from the existing elevation of another pipe?

02-19-2014 11:01 PM in reply to: kcobabe

I'll stick to 2D when I'm drawing then :smileyhappy:

The before mentioned solution does make it a lot quicker to draw pipes and set them to the correct elevation.

Thanks a lot!

I'm still working on my rules in order to make C3D more efficient.

Would it be much trouble for you to list your pipe and structure rules? Maybe as a screenshot?

 

Do you by any chance know why the "new" pipe is not spot on when I use this rule:

Pipe to pipe match

Match Location Centerline

Drop Value 0

 

It is the same network and dimension. For some reason it is off my about 4 mm.

Cheers

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.