AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
csevers
Posts: 142
Registered: ‎10-28-2011
Message 1 of 4 (223 Views)

Pipe network reference alignment not updating

223 Views, 3 Replies
03-19-2014 11:28 AM

I have a pipe network I created in a base drawing along with an alignment I created in the same drawing. I referenced that network into a bunch of sheets. Everything was fine. Then I had to change the name of the alignment in the base drawing, so I did. Now in all my drawings where the pipe network is referenced I get this message: "Reference alignment 'HRO-4 FINAL' not found in reference drawing" HRO-4 FINAL was the old name of the alignment. The alignment is still in the same base drawing, I just changed the name. The pipe network in the base is fine, it updated it's reference alignment to the new name. I recieve that message in all the drawings where my pipe network is dref'd. 

Chris Severs, EI
Windows 7 x 64 bit
NVidia Quadro 2000 Dual Monitor
6.00 GB RAM
Intel Xeon W3550 @ 3.07 GHz
Civil 3D 2013 SP 2, Civil 3D 2012 SP2, Civil 3D 2011 V3, Civil 3D 2010 V3
Product Support
Jason.Ferrelli
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎08-08-2008
Message 2 of 4 (184 Views)

Re: Pipe network reference alignment not updating

03-20-2014 01:27 PM in reply to: csevers

Hi Chris,

Try removing the network reference from your plan, then recreate the data shortcut.

When creating the shortcut, there should be an option to "Override Reference Alignment".

Check this box and select the alignments new name.

 



Jason Ferrelli
Valued Contributor
Ed.McGriskin
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎12-09-2010
Message 3 of 4 (171 Views)

Re: Pipe network reference alignment not updating

03-21-2014 07:03 AM in reply to: csevers

Hi Chris, 

 

We have run into a similar issue with this in our office. The way we dealt with this was to remove all references to the alignment in your pipe network in your base drawing then save and close the base plan. After this re-open the base plan and re-reference all your pipes and structures to the alignment. This should hopefully fix it. 

 

Also, changing the reference alignment in the pipe network properties will not apply the reference alignment to existing pipes and structures in the network but will apply it to new parts added to the network. There is a free app on the app exchange that can quickly apply a new reference alignment to all the existign parts in a pipe network. http://goo.gl/2hUSwi

 

Hope this helps. 

Ed McGriskin, P.Eng.
Project Engineer @ HUSSON
Civil 3D 2013 - Windows 7(64 bit)

Remember to accept the solution so others can find the solution also.
Distinguished Contributor
csevers
Posts: 142
Registered: ‎10-28-2011
Message 4 of 4 (125 Views)

Re: Pipe network reference alignment not updating

05-19-2014 11:55 AM in reply to: Jason.Ferrelli

@Jason - When I try that, and then if I open the pipe network properties menu, the program crases everytime.

Chris Severs, EI
Windows 7 x 64 bit
NVidia Quadro 2000 Dual Monitor
6.00 GB RAM
Intel Xeon W3550 @ 3.07 GHz
Civil 3D 2013 SP 2, Civil 3D 2012 SP2, Civil 3D 2011 V3, Civil 3D 2010 V3
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.