AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
t_mckenzie
Posts: 115
Registered: ‎02-24-2009
Message 1 of 3 (442 Views)

Pipe Network Parts not Visible (Parts List Issue?)

442 Views, 2 Replies
11-27-2012 06:42 AM

I have a user having an issue with drawing pipe networks. When they draw the pipe, the structure is not visible. A label shows up, and the structure can be found in the prospector, but is not editable in the plan view (see attached image).

 

I have a feeling it may be an issue with our pipe networks parts list and pipe catalog location. We have found an issue with our install that defaluts our pipes catalog to our local drives, but our parts list were created using a network drive. Several users have had an issue creating pipe networks when this has happened. However once we switched the pipe catalog to the netowrk drive the issue was resolved.

 

Unfortunately this user has not been as lucky as the other users. When we changed the pipe catalog location, it did not resolve the issues. If anyone has any suggestions on where to begin with fixing this that would be greatly appreciated.

 

FYI - I have tried the basics (layers on/thawed, pipe structure style layers on/thawed, audit and purge).

 

We are using Civil 3D '09.

 

This is holding up a project so any help would be greatly appreciated!

 

Thanks,

-Tucker McKenzie

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,557
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 2 of 3 (433 Views)

Re: Pipe Network Parts not Visible (Parts List Issue?)

11-27-2012 10:15 AM in reply to: t_mckenzie

Strip the drawing down and post it here. Maybe one of us can figure it out for you...

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Mentor
sfore
Posts: 392
Registered: ‎08-27-2007
Message 3 of 3 (418 Views)

Re: Pipe Network Parts not Visible (Parts List Issue?)

11-27-2012 01:00 PM in reply to: t_mckenzie

Just a quick thought....If you are using an annotative block for your structure style in plan view, this could be the issue for not showing up especially if the style is set to use fixed scale from part size.  Structure styles dont like blocks with annotative properties. 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.