AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
jngalbraith
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-02-2010
Message 1 of 8 (453 Views)

Pipe Network Labels

453 Views, 7 Replies
06-02-2010 10:11 AM
I have have a pipe network, In one plan and profile my labels are the right size, but in my site plan the pipe network labels are huge and I do not know how to make them smaller. Please help.
Mentor
lsimms1
Posts: 208
Registered: ‎09-30-2008
Message 2 of 8 (453 Views)

Re: Pipe Network Labels

06-02-2010 10:20 AM in reply to: jngalbraith
Are the drawings different scales?
Do you want the labels to be the same size regardless of the scale?
Active Member
jngalbraith
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-02-2010
Message 3 of 8 (453 Views)

Re: Pipe Network Labels

06-02-2010 10:25 AM in reply to: jngalbraith
My plan and profile is 50 scale and my site plan is 100. The network labels are adjusted in my model and plan/profile so that they are not overlapping any of the text or other imprtant items. But since the text is huge in my site plan it overlaps almost everything.
Mentor
lsimms1
Posts: 208
Registered: ‎09-30-2008
Message 4 of 8 (453 Views)

Re: Pipe Network Labels

06-02-2010 12:30 PM in reply to: jngalbraith
For different scale drawings (layouts) I generally have a different drawing. X-ref the "base" drawing into it, and data shortcut the pipes into it. That way I can adjust the labels per drawing.
If you want the lables the same size regardless of the drawing scale you can create child styles with a smaller text size, and have 2 labels per pipe. I have not gone to that extreme, but instead I have tricked the labels into thinking they are the same scale. I scale the border in the layout, and have the vport the same scale as the other plan. I plot so the actual plot is the right scale.
Maybe in more modern versions you can set the annotation scale for the vport? Can someone with a later version respond to that part? (I am using 2008)
Active Member
jngalbraith
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-02-2010
Message 5 of 8 (453 Views)

Re: Pipe Network Labels

06-02-2010 01:35 PM in reply to: jngalbraith
How do I create a child style?
Valued Contributor
TCARCAMO78
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎06-02-2010
Message 6 of 8 (453 Views)

Re: Pipe Network Labels

06-02-2010 01:38 PM in reply to: jngalbraith
make sure your viewport is unlock. right click on it and select properties. In your properties dialog box set the annotation scale to 50 or 100 which ever you want. Then also set your standard scale to the same scale. When you are done, lock your viewport.
Tony Carcamo
CAD Manager
www.tonyscivil3dworld.blogspot.com
Active Member
jngalbraith
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-02-2010
Message 7 of 8 (453 Views)

Re: Pipe Network Labels

06-02-2010 01:49 PM in reply to: jngalbraith
I tried this already and it did not work
*wfb
Message 8 of 8 (453 Views)

Re: Pipe Network Labels

06-02-2010 01:56 PM in reply to: jngalbraith
All you have to do is post a small portion of what is happening and someone
will tell you the problem.

Bill
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.