Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Part Builder Problem: Custom Parts

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
SSato54
786 Views, 3 Replies

Part Builder Problem: Custom Parts

I've been having some problems with designing a custom structure using part builder.  I'm fairly new to civil 3d and part builder (maybe I'm making an obvious mistake?).  I'm currently working on my first project with c3d...ugh...

I started my pipe network by designing the sewer first.  I created a working model of a sewer manhole structure using part builder.  The part works great when inserted into the c3d drawing. 

After I got my sewer system laid out, I started my water system.   This is where I'm getting stuck…
To start, I opened my sewer manhole structure using part builder and saved it as a water manhole structure.  Without changing any of the structures parameters, I can insert the wmh structure into the drawings without problems.  However, this isnt what I want since I need to change certain size parameters.  Once I start editing the wmh's model parameter the structure stops working.  

Example: I edit just one of the model parameters (frame diameter) and the part stops working. The pipe is split in two when inserting the sewer structure (just like it should), however,  it still shows the pipe's line inside of the structure's boundary.  My Sewer system structures don’t show any lines within the structure's boundary (as if there was a wipeout frame there...i assume this is correct).  Also, the sewer structure does not show up in the profile view (I made sure to draw part in profile view).

All in all, I have some questions: