AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
torpedo99
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎01-09-2012
Message 1 of 7 (242 Views)
Accepted Solution

OVERLAYWIDENWITHSUPER1 zero cross slope glitch

242 Views, 6 Replies
11-02-2012 02:58 PM

with the default cross slope 2% in place and no profile targets, section views with subject sub assembly come up at 0%

 

there's some polyline width targets but no verticals...

 

any thoughts?

 

thx!

The superelevation parameters won't calculate and the software won't allow you to add anything until you have a design speed set for the alignment.  Open the Alignment Properties dialog, switch to the Design Criteria tab and use the button to add one.

Clipboard01.png

I tried some experimenting with a single tangent alignment like yours and ran into the same problem - without any curves you cannot enter any superelevation values.  I ended up adding a very small three point curve to the end of the alignment then used masking to hide it.  Once that was done I could add the superelevation.

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,144
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 2 of 7 (221 Views)

Re: OVERLAYWIDENWITHSUPER1 zero cross slope glitch

11-03-2012 10:53 PM in reply to: torpedo99

Check the superelevation parameters for the alignment.

Active Contributor
torpedo99
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎01-09-2012
Message 3 of 7 (215 Views)

Re: OVERLAYWIDENWITHSUPER1 zero cross slope glitch

11-04-2012 09:01 AM in reply to: sboon

the alignment has no super parameters, therefore it seems the defaults in the subassemblies should dictate

 

other thoughts?

 

thx,

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,144
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 4 of 7 (211 Views)

Re: OVERLAYWIDENWITHSUPER1 zero cross slope glitch

11-04-2012 09:38 AM in reply to: torpedo99

I just checked the help and the parameters for the sub.  I don't see a default slope parameter, and the help indicates that the lane slope always comes from the superelevation.  Perhaps we're talking about different subassemblies or different versions?

 

Clipboard99.png

 

Active Contributor
torpedo99
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎01-09-2012
Message 5 of 7 (206 Views)

Re: OVERLAYWIDENWITHSUPER1 zero cross slope glitch

11-04-2012 10:09 AM in reply to: sboon

I'm using 2012

 

In help under "layout mode operation" it sure seems to imply -2%, also in your graphic it shows a -2% slope value...

 

But I'm guessing you're on the right track.  However I've got a long tangent road and the super wizard simply returns "no curves on alignment" and the tabular editor won't let me add anything.  So I can't simply add 2% normal crown for the length of the roadway, hoping the assembly would kick in.

 

Any last thoughts?

 

again much obliged,

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,144
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 6 of 7 (196 Views)

Re: OVERLAYWIDENWITHSUPER1 zero cross slope glitch

11-04-2012 05:40 PM in reply to: torpedo99

The superelevation parameters won't calculate and the software won't allow you to add anything until you have a design speed set for the alignment.  Open the Alignment Properties dialog, switch to the Design Criteria tab and use the button to add one.

Clipboard01.png

I tried some experimenting with a single tangent alignment like yours and ran into the same problem - without any curves you cannot enter any superelevation values.  I ended up adding a very small three point curve to the end of the alignment then used masking to hide it.  Once that was done I could add the superelevation.

Active Contributor
torpedo99
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎01-09-2012
Message 7 of 7 (174 Views)

Re: OVERLAYWIDENWITHSUPER1 zero cross slope glitch

11-05-2012 06:58 AM in reply to: sboon

you da man!

 

Thank you!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.