AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,750
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 1 of 4 (244 Views)
Accepted Solution

Output Surfaces as XML files

244 Views, 3 Replies
10-26-2012 03:13 AM

Any XML outputs experts (or anyone who knows what is output)??

 

I need to export a DTM for use in another package which I previously did by Extracting the Triangles, Selecting the 3D faces & Wblocking to DXF for import to the other package.

 

The developers of the other package have introduced an XML import which I have been trying out but when the surface is imported into the other package via XML most (but not all) of the triangles honour the original 3D faces.

 

The question is therefore: Does the XML output contain sufficient information to allow the other package to "join the dots" in the correct way so as to mirror the original 3D faces and thus create an exact copy of the DTM??

 

Thanks

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Distinguished Contributor
bingeomatics
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎04-29-2012
Message 2 of 4 (222 Views)

Re: Output Surfaces as XML files

10-26-2012 11:31 AM in reply to: neilyj

I think LandXML format supports all informations for AutoCAD Civil objects, also Surface contains.

Binnat Khalilov
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,750
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 3 of 4 (192 Views)

Re: Output Surfaces as XML files

10-28-2012 02:17 AM in reply to: neilyj
i suppose it's easy enough to import the xml back and compare surface triangles
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Distinguished Contributor
bingeomatics
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎04-29-2012
Message 4 of 4 (167 Views)

Re: Output Surfaces as XML files

10-28-2012 11:05 PM in reply to: neilyj

yes it is.

Binnat Khalilov
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.