AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Mentor
712 Posts
59 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-30-2007
Post 1 of 12

Out of memory - shutting down

11051 Views, 11 Replies
05-03-2012 04:12 PM

C3D 2013 crashed on me earlier today with the above error. I've submitted several Reports after the crashes. I've tried rebooting, repairing, re-installing, uninstalling and reinstalling with reboots in between. I have a presentation tomorrow and I need to fix my C3D drawings.  When trying to start C3D, as soon as the splash screen is gone, I get the "FATAL ERROR: Out of memory - shutting down" AutoCAD Error Aborting error. 

C3D 2012 still works and AutoCAD 2013 works, but of course I can't edit my C3D objects.

I've just submitted a report and figured I'd post here as well.

Any clues?

 

 

*Expert Elite*
6,207 Posts
173 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Post 2 of 12

Re: Out of memory - shutting down

05-03-2012 11:03 PM in reply to: hardin

What OS?  Are you on 64-bit?

Sinc
*Expert Elite*
6,207 Posts
173 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Post 3 of 12

Re: Out of memory - shutting down

05-03-2012 11:09 PM in reply to: hardin

I also recommend that you DO NOT upgrade to 2013 at this point...  Too many bugs.

 

You may be encountering one of those.  It's especially bad to try upgrading a project just as you need to do an important presentation...  Stay on 2012.  Things might get better after 2013 SP1 is released, but I wouldn't be in a hurry to upgrade until then.

Sinc
*Expert Elite*
6,207 Posts
173 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Post 4 of 12

Re: Out of memory - shutting down

05-03-2012 11:19 PM in reply to: Sinc

There are plenty of bugs enough in 2012, such as the way the settings in the "Add Labels" palette often fail to appear; the way the "Recent Documents" list fails to work; the way that the Menu bar will appear overtying the Ribbon in a sort of "garbage" UI display (even thought the menu is turned off); the way that C3D will "lose focus" and go into "Not Responding" mode in a large variety of commands for no apparant reason; and a whole bunch of other problems.  But in general, C3D 2012 seems to work better than C3D 2013, even though C3D 2012 has TONS of problems that were never fixed.

Sinc
Distinguished Mentor
797 Posts
126 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Post 5 of 12

Re: Out of memory - shutting down

05-04-2012 06:08 AM in reply to: hardin

If you can't track down a back up to run in 2012 then try the instructions in this article -

 

Resolving user specific issues by resetting AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=19170578&linkID=9240697

 

This should clean out all the settings stored in your user profile for civil 3d and when you start up civil 3d, a secondary installer should put in fressh files and settings.

 

If that doesn't work, and you still want civil 3d, search for removing all settings after uninstalling civil 3d to give you a clean install.

If this fixed your issue, click on "Accept as Solution"

Andrew Puller
Maitland, NSW, Australia
Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit
Intel core i7 2600 @ 3.40 GHz with 16GB Ram
Civil 3d 2013 64bit
Valued Mentor
712 Posts
59 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-30-2007
Post 6 of 12

Re: Out of memory - shutting down

05-04-2012 07:29 AM in reply to: hardin
Got a response from Autodesk.
The reports I sent didn't clue them in, but they suggested the following:
1. Starting Windows in Diagnostics mode.
2. Loggin in as a different user.
 
I did not do the first thing (diagnostic mode) but did fire up Windows with a different user and it is working.
I plan on using this for now to finish my project for this afternoon's presentation. BTW, it is a small, but complex project with just a few drawings, all started in C3D2013 (not from 2012) and contains an aerial image, a few corridors and surfaces. It is 'just' a quick proposal and I'm using it as a test of 2013 and have had good luck so far. I like 2013.
I might try the diagnostics later this afternoon and let you know how that works.
 
Thanks for the responses.
 
System info:
Windows 7 64 bit.
HP Z400 with Solid State Hard drive, Xeon W3670 3.2 GHz, 24 GB RAM. Two ATI FirePro 4800 running 4 monitors.
Distinguished Mentor
797 Posts
126 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Post 7 of 12

Re: Out of memory - shutting down

05-05-2012 05:45 AM in reply to: hardin

Certainly sounds like a broken setting in the civil 3d user registry or file areas which resetting the user setting to kick of the secondary installer should fix.

 

I have had similar issues with some users on 2010 and 2011 which was fixed by resetting the user settings.

 

Might be worth a look after you have your project sorted.

If this fixed your issue, click on "Accept as Solution"

Andrew Puller
Maitland, NSW, Australia
Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit
Intel core i7 2600 @ 3.40 GHz with 16GB Ram
Civil 3d 2013 64bit
Contributor
15 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-25-2010
Post 8 of 12

Re: Out of memory - shutting down

05-07-2012 08:31 AM in reply to: hardin

Try deleting all the Cache Files in " c:\Users\<username>\AppData\Local\Autodesk\AutoCAD <product name>\R19.0\enu\GraphicsCache".  That solved the issue for me, but I am using ACA 2013.

Valued Mentor
712 Posts
59 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-30-2007
Post 9 of 12

Re: Out of memory - shutting down

05-07-2012 12:09 PM in reply to: hardin

That worked for me. I didn't think of getting rid of temp files.  That's one thing I recommend to my users when they are having problems...

Valued Contributor
61 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎08-07-2012
Post 10 of 12

Re: Out of memory - shutting down

04-24-2013 01:56 AM in reply to: hardin

I just ran into the same problem in Civil 3D 2012

The problem arised after i created a certain feature line. The program crashed and closed. Now i cannot open this file again without the error. I can open all other files though.

 

I thought of trying to delete the aforementioned files but couldnt locate them even after using the search function.

After a year, has there appeared a better solution to fix the problem?

 

My whole project is in that one file that i don't have any copies of...

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!