AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
StumpMasterFlex
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎09-25-2013
Message 1 of 11 (208 Views)
Accepted Solution

Object text

208 Views, 10 Replies
03-01-2014 07:49 AM

Setting up scales on projects is not one of my strong suits.  I had an AutoCAD project that originally set up in model space at 1:400.  I added Civil 3D objects to it and the text size looks good in both Model and the 1:400 Layout tabs.  But a couple of the drawings in the set had to be set a 1:500 and 1:750.  The text on the Civil 3D objects scale up and cross each other etc.

 

Is there a way to the Civil 3D labels so they are not scale dependant and remain Static?

Kindest Regards
Michael,
Draftsperson (Exploration Technologist)
Civil 3D 2013
Windows 8
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz
32. GB
64-bit Oepration System, x64-based processor
No Pen or Touch Input

Dave, you need to go to the Expressions, create a new one, name it something that you will recognize such as L80 - 40 scale. Input the Expression, make sure the format is Double, close the expression dialog. Now "L80 - 40 scale" will be available for use as the Text Height in the Label Style Composer.

 

3-1-2014 3-00-48 PM.png

 

3-1-2014 3-01-55 PM.png

 

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,856
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 2 of 11 (181 Views)

Re: Object text

03-01-2014 09:46 AM in reply to: StumpMasterFlex

Label text is actually static but it is set to mm on the plotted sheet i.e. 3mm text at 1:400 looks ok but at 1:1000 it'll look bigger but will still be 3mm high.

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Valued Contributor
StumpMasterFlex
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎09-25-2013
Message 3 of 11 (178 Views)

Re: Object text

03-01-2014 10:22 AM in reply to: neilyj

Thanks for the response, so it is static.  Makes sense.  So is there a way to make it dynamic?  I want it to be same size in model space as it is on any sheet regardless of the sheet scale?

Kindest Regards
Michael,
Draftsperson (Exploration Technologist)
Civil 3D 2013
Windows 8
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz
32. GB
64-bit Oepration System, x64-based processor
No Pen or Touch Input
*Expert Elite*
Pointdump
Posts: 793
Registered: ‎11-24-2009
Message 4 of 11 (168 Views)

Re: Object text

03-01-2014 11:52 AM in reply to: StumpMasterFlex

SMF,

When you say "same size", do you mean printed height (which is what you should be getting now) or size in relation to objects in another scale? The latter might be tough because C3D styles ignore Annotative Scaling. You'll probably have to make scale-specific styles that have different text heights.

Dave


Dave Stoll
Mohave Valley, Arizona

Intel Core i7-3820QM 3rd Generation Quad Core 2.7 GHZ CPU
16 GB DDR3 RAM ( 2 DIMM ) / 180 GB SSD
Nvidia GeForce 650M Graphics w/2 GB Memory
Windows 7 Professional 64 bit / AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014/2015
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,431
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 5 of 11 (156 Views)

Re: Object text

03-01-2014 01:29 PM in reply to: StumpMasterFlex

Create an expression which uses your set text height then divides that by the {Drawing Scale Conversion} property. Inthis example (I use Imperial units, so excuse the inches reference :-) ) my model space and normal PS VP scale is 1"=40', so I want my text to be 0.08" high when plotted. This means I need my text to be 3.2' high in modelspace. Here's my Expression: 3.2{Drawing Scale Conversion} Then use this Expression as your Text Height in the Label Style.

 

And here's what a Point Description looks like at various scales in different VP's. Note that the Point node remains the same size, so it is scaling like normal, but the text size is changing so it is behaving as you desire.

 

FIXED HEIGHT LABEL TEXT.png

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
Pointdump
Posts: 793
Registered: ‎11-24-2009
Message 6 of 11 (152 Views)

Re: Object text

03-01-2014 02:08 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

Jeff,

That sounds cool! Would you please elaborate on how to get an expression into the Text Height Value Column?

TextHgt.png

Dave


Dave Stoll
Mohave Valley, Arizona

Intel Core i7-3820QM 3rd Generation Quad Core 2.7 GHZ CPU
16 GB DDR3 RAM ( 2 DIMM ) / 180 GB SSD
Nvidia GeForce 650M Graphics w/2 GB Memory
Windows 7 Professional 64 bit / AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014/2015
Valued Contributor
StumpMasterFlex
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎09-25-2013
Message 7 of 11 (144 Views)

Re: Object text

03-01-2014 02:39 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

Thanks Jeff, that is what I am looking for.  I just got home from the office and was too busy to check my mail.  I will try this tomorrow and see how it goes.

 

On a personal note, thanks for all your help.  You have responded to a least half of my postings and solved all of the ones you responded to.  I appreciate the help.

 

Your a valuable resource.

 

 

 

 

Kindest Regards
Michael,
Draftsperson (Exploration Technologist)
Civil 3D 2013
Windows 8
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz
32. GB
64-bit Oepration System, x64-based processor
No Pen or Touch Input
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,431
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 8 of 11 (140 Views)

Re: Object text

03-01-2014 03:02 PM in reply to: Pointdump

Dave, you need to go to the Expressions, create a new one, name it something that you will recognize such as L80 - 40 scale. Input the Expression, make sure the format is Double, close the expression dialog. Now "L80 - 40 scale" will be available for use as the Text Height in the Label Style Composer.

 

3-1-2014 3-00-48 PM.png

 

3-1-2014 3-01-55 PM.png

 

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,431
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 9 of 11 (137 Views)

Re: Object text

03-01-2014 03:04 PM in reply to: StumpMasterFlex
You're welcome, Michael. I enjoy helping, when I can, and it's nice to hear from those I have been able to help.
Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
Pointdump
Posts: 793
Registered: ‎11-24-2009
Message 10 of 11 (117 Views)

Re: Object text

03-01-2014 05:32 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

Jeff,

 

I just followed your clear instructions, and it works perfectly!

 

Thanks, and thanks for your continued helpful presence on the Forum.

 

Dave


Dave Stoll
Mohave Valley, Arizona

Intel Core i7-3820QM 3rd Generation Quad Core 2.7 GHZ CPU
16 GB DDR3 RAM ( 2 DIMM ) / 180 GB SSD
Nvidia GeForce 650M Graphics w/2 GB Memory
Windows 7 Professional 64 bit / AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014/2015
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.