AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
csevers
Posts: 143
Registered: ‎10-28-2011
Message 1 of 5 (665 Views)

Object information to object geometry

665 Views, 4 Replies
03-12-2012 10:50 AM

I'm making a surface out of contours. The problem is the contours have the elevation listed under object information, not geometry (the contours were brought in from a GIS file, which I do not have access to, or I would bring them in again with the elevations properly assigned, this is not an option). How can I quickly change the geometry elevation property to match the miscellaneous property?

Chris Severs, EI
Windows 7 x 64 bit
NVidia Quadro 2000 Dual Monitor
6.00 GB RAM
Intel Xeon W3550 @ 3.07 GHz
Civil 3D 2013 SP 2, Civil 3D 2012 SP2, Civil 3D 2011 V3, Civil 3D 2010 V3
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,340
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 2 of 5 (662 Views)

Re: Object information to object geometry

03-12-2012 11:19 AM in reply to: csevers

The old school method is to use a Map Query. The way it works is you set up a blank dwg, attach the source file with the contours and configure an Alter Properties query to apply the elevation field to elevate the contours. It's a bit too detailed to spell it out step by step here but I am sure there are several posts and blogs about how to do this.

 

Try searching for Map+contour+elevations

 

P.S. Though you don't have the original GIS files, you can always export to a shapefile and re-Import using the proper settings to elevate the contours. You might also look into the extensions for C3D, one of which is a tool for creating a surface from GIS files.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 3 of 5 (660 Views)

Re: Object information to object geometry

03-12-2012 11:23 AM in reply to: csevers

see the attached - what you want is a minor variation of something I posted for another user around the start of the year. 

 

start a new drawing.  attach the first drawing with the contours with object data.  use drawing query & alter properties during query to adjust to elevation.

 

update the posting if you need clarification, or mark as "accepted as solution" 

 

Cheers!


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,086
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 5 (631 Views)

Re: Object information to object geometry

03-12-2012 02:54 PM in reply to: csevers

You can always export the contours lines out to SHP format and create the attributes needed from the OD. Then use the create surface from GIS data tool.  No need to do a map attach and query in a blank dwg.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,979
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 5 of 5 (617 Views)

Re: Object information to object geometry

03-13-2012 01:30 AM in reply to: Murph

Other options are to use the 2D to 3D contours Conversion tool in the UKIE pack or download the Sincpac (free edition) and use the ElevatePolylines (CHELEV) command (this give more options than the first mentioned)

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.