AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
karen.cohen
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-03-2012
Message 1 of 5 (281 Views)
Accepted Solution

Object Enabler freading 2013 Civil objects

281 Views, 4 Replies
04-17-2012 11:38 AM

Just loaded 2013 Civil 3D, need an Object Enabler for Civil 2012 that will translate the 2013 objects, does that exst yet??

 

Dims and Multileaders aredo not translate when saved backwards.

Thanks for your input

*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,764
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 2 of 5 (271 Views)

Re: Object Enabler freading 2013 Civil objects

04-17-2012 12:47 PM in reply to: karen.cohen

I think what you're asking for is an OE that will translate 2013 objects so you can open the file in 2012 and have them work.  This does not exist.  This is not possible.  Once a file has been saved in 2013 that file is forever locked to 2013 and above.  It can never be viewed in previous versions.

 

Your only hope if the PROXYGRAPHICS variable.  This may allow those objects to be viewed (but not edited) in previous versions.

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Contributor
everblader
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 5 (242 Views)

Re: Object Enabler freading 2013 Civil objects

04-18-2012 07:17 AM in reply to: mathewk

mathewk wrote:

I think what you're asking for is an OE that will translate 2013 objects so you can open the file in 2012 and have them work.  This does not exist.  This is not possible.  Once a file has been saved in 2013 that file is forever locked to 2013 and above.  It can never be viewed in previous versions.

 

Your only hope if the PROXYGRAPHICS variable.  This may allow those objects to be viewed (but not edited) in previous versions.


Can you please explain why Autodesk decided not to allow this "backward editablity" in only one version sequence? To someone who has been using AutoCAD for 15 years, I see why a lot of people have a level of apprehension and frustration when a new version is released. And if there is a "workaround" Autodesk does not inform you of it you have to seek it out in a group forum. Just my two cents…



HP Z400 Workstation
Intel Xeon W3550 -Cores 4
12GB Triple-Channel DDR3 @ 533MHz
2-HP LE2201w @ 1680x1050
ATI FirePro V3800 (FireGL) (HP)
MS Windows 7 64-bit
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,764
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 4 of 5 (237 Views)

Re: Object Enabler freading 2013 Civil objects

04-18-2012 07:48 AM in reply to: karen.cohen
You'll have to ask Autodesk that question.

This behavior is nothing new; C3D has always been like this, including all of the other verticals if I'm not mistaken. Annoying yes, but it's nothing new.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Member
karen.cohen
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-03-2012
Message 5 of 5 (207 Views)

Re: Object Enabler freading 2013 Civil objects

04-19-2012 01:31 PM in reply to: karen.cohen

Thanks for your input

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.