AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,100
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 1 of 6 (249 Views)

Note text gone.

249 Views, 5 Replies
01-30-2012 10:21 AM

I had a problem, [Points no longer Drag ], that required me to insert a drawing in to a fresh drawing created from a Template. After I did that all my Note Labels reverted to saying just NOTE. I thought it might be a style problem, I was using a slightly modified General Note style, so I overwrote it from a backup of the original drawing. The notes didn't change. I tried copying a note from the backup and pasting it in to the new drawing. But it reverted to NOTE again. I finally opened each note in the backup and pasted the contents to each note in the new drawing.

 

Does anyone know why that might have happened and how to avoid it in the future?

 

Allen

Civil 3D 2011, Version 2, Raster Design 2011
Windows 7 Pro, 64 bit

Dell Precision T7400, Xenon X5460, 3.2 GHz, 4 GB Ram
NVIDIA Quadro FX 4600, 768MB

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,850
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 2 of 6 (222 Views)

Re: Note text gone.

01-30-2012 01:07 PM in reply to: AllenJessup

It's reasons like this that I don't recommend inserting one C3D drawing into another, things just seem to get broken. I'm sorry I don't have a better answer for you...

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,100
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 3 of 6 (214 Views)

Re: Note text gone.

01-30-2012 01:55 PM in reply to: BrianHailey

I don't disagree. But the was the "Fix" for the previous problem.

 

The cure may be worse than the disease. I now have some other weird problems. In some cases the Linetype scale for "some" linetypes are messed up. I've checked the LTscale for the drawing and the individual entities and checked 3 or 4 times that the drawing scale is set correctly. But I have to set the LTscale for some lines to 0.1 in the new drawing to get them to display the same as in the old drawing.

 

The other weird thing is it's basic Autocad entities I'm having the most trouble with. The Civil 3D objects seem to have com through OK. The exception was the display of the contours for the existing surface. But it turned out that if I set the LTscale in the Surface Style to 0.1 they displayed the way I want them.

 

I admit that some of the trouble with this drawing may come from not getting it set up right from the beginning. It was supposed to be for the redesign of a portion of a parking lot that's part of a bigger job. Over time I've added alignments, profiles, corridors, etc. as more check and redesign is needed. Of course I don't have time to break it up as it should be. I have to keep ahead of the excavators. Why couldn't we have 3' of snow in the Northeast!!

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 3,002
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 6 (185 Views)

Re: Note text gone.

01-31-2012 09:24 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

If you had any label overrides assigned to other labels (srf, stc, pipes, etc) you lost them too. This will also happen if you swap a label style. Annotative text styles have been a much better solution for us with notes and call-out labels.

 

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,100
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 5 of 6 (183 Views)

Re: Note text gone.

01-31-2012 09:31 AM in reply to: jmayo

I've needed to reestablish a few overrides. But that's easy and there weren't many. The weirdest is the LTscale. Still haven't figured that out. Also. Every Point Group was duplicated 5 times. Took a while to delete all of them.

 

Luckily this drawing will never be published as a plan set!!

 

Allen

Distinguished Contributor
pcchenard
Posts: 142
Registered: ‎07-13-2000
Message 6 of 6 (141 Views)

Re: Note text gone.

04-30-2012 11:11 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

AllenJessup wrote:

I had a problem, [Points no longer Drag ], that required me to insert a drawing in to a fresh drawing created from a Template. After I did that all my Note Labels reverted to saying just NOTE. 


We just switched to Civil 3D (2012) and this is a major problem for us.  We are always having to copy with basepoint and paste into another drawing or insert one drawing into another.  The fact that notes reset to the default text of the note style makes them pretty much useless.  I can understand other overrides being reset to whatever is defined in the drawing, but if you edit label text then they should keep that text with them.  Does anyone know if this behaviour has changed in 2013?

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!