Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No profile is drawn in the profile view

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
eyescast
352 Views, 4 Replies

No profile is drawn in the profile view

I am a C3D newbie who used  ground survey points  (Serrano_EG_surface)  that  generated a Civil 3D surface. The white line is consist of arc segments that I turned into polylines and then  into individual CL alignments. The first alignment ,which has its left and right offsets   do not generate the profile view that I needed to be created. There was a prompt asking for a profile to choose, but I don't know where in the drawing or in the propector panel to click on.

1. Are the ground survey points good enough  so that any alignments over the those areas can provide me a surface profile, a design profile, cross sections every 50 feet, so that I can submit a  preliminary drawing for environmental permitting. ?

2. When I check the object browser,  the aligments preceding each other are not in the same elevation it seems. Do I have to to transform each of the polylines first into a 3d polyline and then an alignment so that I can create a profile.

3. Eventually , I wish to connect all these alignments to model a 1.5 mile rural road (more like an access road to a water reservoir).

4. What's a best techniques to keep track of modeling a road.This question pertains to e.g the object browser as one of the useful aid. I've also used the inquiry tool but not used it for its full potential.

Please respond. I've been in this rut for a few days now since I am the only one in the office who spends the time learning Civil 3d as the primary tool for modeling any horizonal civil projects. The rest are more comfortable in doing everything in Autocad.

Thanks.

J. Cruz

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
tcorey