AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
woodbry
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-27-2013
Message 1 of 5 (211 Views)

new to Civil 3d...corridor surface creation problem

211 Views, 4 Replies
03-27-2013 07:47 AM

I am new to Civil 3D.  Looking to upgrade from Carlson.  Anyway i am going through "Mastering Civil 3D" and have gotten to this point...I have created a corridor with different regions for 2 - 3 lane transition.  My cross sections look fine so everything looks good so far.  I go to create a surface, select links, top, and create boundary.  Hit "OK" and everyhting seems to have processed.  The only problem is that nothing was created.  The surface file contains no data

and no contours.  How can the corridor sections appear correctly but no surface can be created?  I'm sure it is something simple that i am leavign out but I have gotten frustrated.  A little help please!

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,525
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 2 of 5 (200 Views)

Re: new to Civil 3d...corridor surface creation problem

03-27-2013 08:39 AM in reply to: woodbry

A couple of screen shots  might help.  For example: the dialog box where you're creating the surface.

 


woodbry wrote:

...

How can the corridor sections appear correctly but no surface can be created? 


Well, there you are sectioning the corridor itself, not the corridor surface.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Member
woodbry
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-27-2013
Message 3 of 5 (195 Views)

Re: new to Civil 3d...corridor surface creation problem

03-27-2013 08:48 AM in reply to: troma
 
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,525
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 4 of 5 (191 Views)

Re: new to Civil 3d...corridor surface creation problem

03-27-2013 08:55 AM in reply to: woodbry

Is the surface style "Contours 2..." set to display?

Are the necessary layers on?


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Member
woodbry
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-27-2013
Message 5 of 5 (183 Views)

Re: new to Civil 3d...corridor surface creation problem

03-27-2013 09:07 AM in reply to: troma

Yes they are all on.  I have no data in the Analysis or Statistics columns in the surface properties.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.