Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to AutoCAD, quick question about isolation sections of a land development

3 REPLIES 3
SOLVED
Message 1 of 4
dbombliss128
306 Views, 3 Replies

New to AutoCAD, quick question about isolation sections of a land development

Hey guys,

This is my first post and for a quick bit of what I'm doing any why I've joined, I'm new to AutoCAD and need to pick it up quick for my job. I work at a small engineering firm that is well aware that I have minimal AutoCAD experience. My background is in Rhino3d and AutoCAD has never been something I needed to learn until now. My obstacle is the new vocabulary and interface. It controls relatively differently, but all and all it translates well. With the new position, I've been appointed to juggle learning AutoCAD from scratch (videos, tutorials, books), along with still getting some of the small requests completed. Therefore I'll have some questions "outside of the curriculum", if you will, while I'm picking up the new software.

Anyhow for my question:

I've been given a residential subdivision plot. It has all already been drawn in 2d, including all of the information and the grading, ect. All I need to be able to do, is isolate individual house plots, including all of the lines for the grading and what not. I have the drawing of the entire subdivision if many house plots. For example, what I imagine doing in my head, is highlighting plot "11" (for example) and cutting it out of the entire drawing. I need to individualize each house foot print, with all included grading information, and get them to scale, for individual print outs.