AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
cattjake
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎09-06-2011
Message 1 of 3 (228 Views)

New Survey Point Group - User-defined

228 Views, 2 Replies
02-19-2013 05:23 AM

Morning,

 

Autocad civil 3d 2012

 

I have a survey data base created for all the points for a specific site. For these points I have created multiple user-defined properties (depth to botom of clean soil, year, boring type, boring log, etc.) I wanted to create a point group based off these user defined properties, so I went into the manage extended properties and added them to the point group properties. When I right click "new survey point group" the window pops up that i have attached bellow.

 

The issue I am running into is that although the properies show up under user-defined in the top half, down where the list of points is I can't figure out how to add user defined columns so that I can sort and select the propper points?

 

 

Thanks,

 

Valued Mentor
david.zavislan
Posts: 282
Registered: ‎10-31-2006
Message 2 of 3 (182 Views)

Re: New Survey Point Group - User-defined

02-20-2013 08:01 AM in reply to: cattjake

I don't think you can display user defined point properties in the point group dialog.  I have not found a way.

 

You are working with two different sets of user defined properties. There are Survey Point properties and Survey Point Group properties.  These are not the same thing.  The point group properties allows you to add additional information about the point group, which is why you see them in the point group dialog.

 

I find that the survey database point group functions to be deficient.  It needs to have the query capabilities that are available in the drawing point groups.

David Zavislan, P.E. | Wood Rodgers, Inc.
Valued Mentor
IanMcClain
Posts: 470
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 3 of 3 (174 Views)

Re: New Survey Point Group - User-defined

02-20-2013 08:34 AM in reply to: cattjake

Although you cannot see the user defined properties in the survey database point groups, you should still be able to see them in the prospector point groups if you created and imported using a custom file format that includes the UDPs.

-Ian McClain
(running C3D 2012 sp4, Win7 64bit, 8GB)
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.