Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Network share browsing slowness - Civil 3d 2012

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
shomizu9
450 Views, 7 Replies

Network share browsing slowness - Civil 3d 2012

Hello all,

I am a technology consultant with a client using Civil 3D 2012.

They moved from 2008 to 2012, and we've noticed something a bit odd:  browsing network shares from within Autocad's file explorer is significantly slower than doing the same in Windows Explorer.  By "slower", I mean going from directory to directory shows noticeable lag before the directory contents are displayed, whereas in Windows Explorer there isn't any.  They don't recall having this issue with 2008.

All workstations are Windows 7, and the "server" where the shares live is running XP Pro (very small firm with 2-3 people hitting the "server" at any given time - 3 is rare).  I've updated Civil 3d with the latest service pack (2) as of this writing hoping it might resolve the issue, but it doesn't seem to.

I looked around a bit on these discussion boards and Google but couldn't quite find anyone mentioning the same issue or a fix.  Has anyone else run into this or something similar, and been able to resolve it?  I'm no Autodesk expert by any means but I will try to answer any questions/bring any data I can to help resolve the problem.

Thanks!

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
wfberry
in reply to: shomizu9

Service Pack 2 for Civil 3D 2012 was just posted.  I would install that first.

Bill

Message 3 of 8
antoniovinci

Check if every client AND the server belong to the same workgroup, maybe it helps.

Message 4 of 8
shomizu9
in reply to: antoniovinci

Thanks guys.

Bill, I did make sure I had SP2 installed yesterday before giving up and coming here, but it didn't seem to make any difference 😞