AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
EJMartinez
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎09-18-2013
Message 1 of 6 (136 Views)

Need Help with Image!

136 Views, 5 Replies
05-09-2014 08:56 AM

Hello everyone,

Let me see if I can explain this clearly. I am about to turn in a few projects. I have to turn in everything using a DVD-R disc. One question that i really need help is the image I am using for the project. I am trying to turn it in with the image attach on. The problem is that the image has a path that goes to my computer to find the image. Another problem is that the image I am using is about 6.5 GB. I am only using a little area from this big image i got. I clip it in AutoCAD Civil 3d but it still has the 6.5GB. I am using Civil 3D 2012. I inserted the image using command MAPIINS. Image is an ecw file. I want to clip the image to the right file size to send off.

Distinguished Contributor
entropist
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎01-04-2010
Message 2 of 6 (131 Views)

Re: Need Help with Image!

05-09-2014 09:20 AM in reply to: EJMartinez

If you set all xrefs to relative paths, the links will work fine from any source.

 

I've never had to learn to clip images, but if you use a double layer DVD the image should fit as is.

Active Contributor
EJMartinez
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎09-18-2013
Message 3 of 6 (124 Views)

Re: Need Help with Image!

05-09-2014 10:02 AM in reply to: entropist
Yea I set the image xref path to the right path I wanted. Its just the image is too big to send. Probably going to have to just send It using a big enough USB flash drive.
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,340
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 4 of 6 (105 Views)

Re: Need Help with Image!

05-09-2014 12:03 PM in reply to: EJMartinez

If you really want to clip the image you should be able to de-compress it to a TIF or JPG using a utility from the makers of the ECW compression engine (ER-MAPPER?) and clip it with Raster Design or any other image editing software that supports georeferencing.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,780
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 5 of 6 (104 Views)

Re: Need Help with Image!

05-09-2014 12:03 PM in reply to: EJMartinez

EJ,

I advise you to clip the huge ECW in a third-party Gis software (e.g. Qgis).

Doing so, you'll get a small georeferenced image, definitely portable by email...

 

Active Contributor
EJMartinez
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎09-18-2013
Message 6 of 6 (71 Views)

Re: Need Help with Image!

05-14-2014 10:36 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Will it work or is there a way to crop the image in AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 or AutoCAD Map 3D 2012?

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.