Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need Help with Conditional Cut or Fill

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
murray-clack
2683 Views, 5 Replies

Need Help with Conditional Cut or Fill

Hi there!  I'm a Twenty-three year veteran of AutoCAD, but am very new to Civil 3D, and I need help with an assembly that may (or may not) need a Conditional Cut to Fill.

My Goal:  At the outside edge of the sidewalk of my road assembly, I want to put in a conditional parameter that when a cut situation exceeds a vertical distance of 12" (0.300m) at a 2:1 slope, then a mini retaining wall is to be placed. And then, from the top of the retaining wall, place a cut or fill daylight sub assembly

I am not sure which daylight subassembly to use (or how many) or when to place the conditional cut or fill (or if I need it at all).

Help?

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
sboon
in reply to: murray-clack

What you want to do is certainly possible, but there are a few extra steps involved.  The first thing that you need to keep in mind is the logic of the ConditionalCutorFill subassembly:

if "TEST CONDITION" = TRUE then DO the attached subassembly ELSE do NOTHING

Usually this means that you have to have a series of Conditional subs - and make sure that only one of them will be TRUE so that only one of the possible results will actually happen.

For your scenario you first need to attach two ConditionalCutorFill subs to the outside of the sidewalk.  One tests for Cut from 0 to infinity, while the other tests for Fill.  In this case the test point is a different location than the attachment point so you will need an assembly offset.  Use the ACad move command for this, to shift the conditional subs 1' up and 2' out from the sidewalk.