Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help w/ datum/coordinate sys problem

2 REPLIES 2
Message 1 of 3
ctulley
1123 Views, 2 Replies

Need help w/ datum/coordinate sys problem

Hello all,

I am a GIS Analyst at an engineering firm trying to help one of our engineers determine what the heck is going on in some files he's working with. We have a concrete pad design file that is purportedly in Ohio State Plane North, NAD 27. We needed contours for the design, so we downloaded the raw LAS Lidar point cloud from the Ohio OGRIP server. I had him bring it into a blank CAD file which was assigned the coordinate system of the Lidar, which is Ohio State Plane North, NAD83 HARN. He imported the point cloud, classified it, and generated the contours.

I brought the file into ArcMap, set my coordinate system to NAD83 HARN, imported the file, and exported the polylines to a shapefile in order to perform the two-step transformation from NAD83 HARN to NAD83 to NAD27 in ArcMap. I then exported the NAD27 version back to CAD, and checked at each transformation step to ensure that my files were lining up per the assigned coordinate system.

When the engineer adds the converted contours in NAD27 to the concrete pad file using NAD27, the pad is shifted away from where it ought to be in the contours. In one file the units are in inches, in the other they are in feet. My Lidar tile index, aerial image, DEM, and the contours that he created from the LAS file all line up for me in ArcMap no matter if they are in NAD83 HARN or the final NAD27. We need to determine if the original concrete pad design was done wrong, but I don't know where to tell him to start. We have been going back and forth all day and are both ready to kick the computer. 😉