AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
cwitzel
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 1 of 8 (694 Views)

Named UCS Civil 3d 2013

694 Views, 7 Replies
06-13-2012 08:26 AM

I am curious if any one else is having issues with "named UCS" in Civil 3d 2013.  

 

Often when we open a drawing where we have a named UCS, the view will switch to some sort of 3d view.  This will also occur when switching from paper space to model space.

 

While the drawing is opening, you can see the view as it was when the drawing was saved and at the end of the load process it will flip.

 

I had thought it might be something in our acaddoc.lsp but it also happens when switching from paper space.

 

Conan Witzel

Civil 3d 2013 64 Bit

Windows 7 64 Bit

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,012
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 2 of 8 (693 Views)

Re: Named UCS Civil 3d 2013

06-13-2012 08:34 AM in reply to: cwitzel

Some may disagree with me. But I think it's a bad idea to us UCSs in Civil 3D. As to you problem, since I don't use them I haven't any experience. The only thing I might suggest is to set the drawing to the WCS before saving.

 

Allen

Active Contributor
cwitzel
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 8 (690 Views)

Re: Named UCS Civil 3d 2013

06-13-2012 08:39 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

Whenever we are doing annotation we do it ortho to a property line.  Unless I am missing something the only way to do this is with a UCS.

We do keep civil 3d drawings, such as our grading drawing, in WCS as some features don't work in the Named UCS. However anyplace we have annotation such as Dimensional Control has a UCS.

We have not had issues prior to 2013.

Thanks,

Conan

*Expert Elite*
LisaPohlmeyer
Posts: 585
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
Message 4 of 8 (684 Views)

Re: Named UCS Civil 3d 2013

06-13-2012 09:30 AM in reply to: cwitzel

Conan,

We set our label styles to be roatated with the view instead of the object.  Look on the General Tab of the label style.

Lisa Pohlmeyer

C3D 2012 SP4, C3D 2015
Please use "Accept as Solution" if this solved your issue.
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,012
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 5 of 8 (678 Views)

Re: Named UCS Civil 3d 2013

06-13-2012 09:54 AM in reply to: cwitzel

I've never had to set a UCS yet. Dview has always worked for us. Granted we don't do too much subdivision work.

 

Allen

Active Contributor
cwitzel
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 8 (677 Views)

Re: Named UCS Civil 3d 2013

06-13-2012 09:54 AM in reply to: LisaPohlmeyer

Lisa,

Nice to hear from you!

We do that for all of our Civil 3d annotation, but we still have a lot of callouts, dimensions etc that are not Civil 3d based.  In addition whenever we are doing layouts, we like to be ortho to one or more of the property lines.

It isn't changing the UCS, just the initial view.ucs

It has always worked in the past.

Conan Witzel

Active Contributor
jnovak
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎08-27-2003
Message 7 of 8 (539 Views)

Re: Named UCS Civil 3d 2013

11-02-2012 11:32 AM in reply to: cwitzel

Hi:

 

Has anyone found a solution for this? Everything seemed fine in Civil 3D prior to 2013, but now my views get all wonky when switching from paper space to model space when a UCS other than WCS is being used in model space.

 

Thanks,

Valued Contributor
witzel
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎10-24-2008
Message 8 of 8 (515 Views)

Re: Named UCS Civil 3d 2013

11-04-2012 06:40 PM in reply to: cwitzel

Sadly I hope we are awaiting SP1. AutoCad and Map are both out so it should be coming soon and I certainly hope this is part of the patch.

 

Thanks,

Conan Witzel 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.