Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My Part Builder Experience...

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
mdjones3333
2359 Views, 5 Replies

My Part Builder Experience...

Hello Fellow Civil 3D Users!

I have been using C3D for over 5 years now and recently had to work with Part Builder in C3D 2012.  A few things to point out about my experience.  First, a shout out to Cyndy Davenport and Eric Chappell for their very detailed and informative AU instructional videos.  Now, here is my challenge:  I work in central PA and have to deal with using PennDOT standard structures that have recently been updated in their Pub 72M (Standard Construction Details).  One of the changes were that there are three standard ‘tops’ (a combination curb top – Type C, a flat grate – Type M, and a Type S which has a lip on the outer edge).  These top structures fit onto no less than eight base structures that range from about 3 x 4 feet to one that is 10 x 10 feet to accommodate large pipes.  Here is where it gets challenging.  For the larger sizes, the pipe connection point (base structure center and axis of structure rotation) moves farther and farther away from the intended insertion point where you want C3D to get the surface elevation point to subsequently determine the structure height.  Additionally, the larger structures would only have the larger base to accommodate the drainage pipes then transition by using a slab top to a smaller ‘standard’ riser to get to the surface – saving construction costs.  First Question:  Is there a way to have two points for the part – one for the insertion/pipe connection and another from which it derives the surface elevation?  If so, that would be great.  If not? why not?  Seems simple for AutoDesk to program that into Part Builder.