AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Mentor
ralstogj
Posts: 613
Registered: ‎10-01-2006
Message 1 of 7 (439 Views)

Multpile Revisions on one Sheet and SheetSet Manager

439 Views, 6 Replies
11-06-2012 02:50 PM

Hi

 

I was wanting to know how people deal with multpile revisions of one sheet with sheetset manager, basically I want the cover sheet of drawings to have a list of drawings including the revision letter and revision date and on each individual sheet keep track of historical revisions 

 

There is the current sheet revision and date fields.Does everyone usually just update these and manually keep track of historical revisions else where in there title block?.

 

 

Regards

Justin Ralston
http://c3dxtreme.blogspot.com/
Product Support
SethHall
Posts: 723
Registered: ‎02-08-2010
Message 2 of 7 (395 Views)

Re: Multpile Revisions on one Sheet and SheetSet Manager

11-13-2012 07:59 AM in reply to: ralstogj

Although I cannot offer a perspective of a production environment, I do not think there is any automated way to accomplish this. If anything I hope this reply brings this topic to the top of the list to drum up some responses from users who may have encountered this.



Seth Hall
Product Support
GCSO - CSS - FTS
Autodesk, Inc.


Being Civil
Being Civil Twitter
Being Civil Facebook







*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,124
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 3 of 7 (390 Views)

Re: Multpile Revisions on one Sheet and SheetSet Manager

11-13-2012 08:15 AM in reply to: ralstogj

You would need to add custom fields into SSM to take the input per sheet revision. Although this creates a conundrum? how many revision fields do I need? If I make a provision for say six revision I'm sure I'll need seven in practice.

 

So create as many custom revision fields you anticpate and place empty placeholders on the TB.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Product Support
SethHall
Posts: 723
Registered: ‎02-08-2010
Message 4 of 7 (387 Views)

Re: Multpile Revisions on one Sheet and SheetSet Manager

11-13-2012 08:18 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Thanks Joe!!



Seth Hall
Product Support
GCSO - CSS - FTS
Autodesk, Inc.


Being Civil
Being Civil Twitter
Being Civil Facebook







*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,124
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 5 of 7 (385 Views)

Re: Multpile Revisions on one Sheet and SheetSet Manager

11-13-2012 08:20 AM in reply to: SethHall

Hi Seth

 

UBETCHA!

 

I'll try to contribute more as time permits. :smileyvery-happy:

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
mikeevans
Posts: 804
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 6 of 7 (384 Views)

Re: Multpile Revisions on one Sheet and SheetSet Manager

11-13-2012 08:21 AM in reply to: ralstogj

I have just been looking at the same thing. We would state the revisions on the sheet but oviously you cant have differing revisions with ease.

 

I sudgest you could set up a custom sheet value for the current revision number and decriptive text which can be set by the user when he updates the drawing revision.

 

This field must not be included in the revision text on the drawing, that should be plain Mtext otherwise you will get duplicate revisions anotated but could be projected to the master revision sheet you spoke of for record tracking.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mike Evans

Civil3D 2013 / 2014 British UK
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3820 CPU @ 3.60GHz (8 CPUs), ~4.0GHz With 32768MB RAM, AMD FirePro V4900, Dedicated Memory: 984 MB, Shared Memory: 814 MB

Valued Mentor
ralstogj
Posts: 613
Registered: ‎10-01-2006
Message 7 of 7 (371 Views)

Re: Multpile Revisions on one Sheet and SheetSet Manager

11-13-2012 12:08 PM in reply to: ralstogj

Sort of as Mike suggested I have put in the current revision field and that has to be updated by the user and the old revsion date and number added to the titile block. These are not custom fields at this stage in SSM that I can get the data for. As for the amount of revisions depends on the client one has been know to go through 26 letters it would be good if SSM could kind track of which one is the latest automatically and keep and auto extandable list of the historical ones so a complete drawing history could be printed from SSMtitileblock.png

Regards

Justin Ralston
http://c3dxtreme.blogspot.com/
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!