AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,188
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 11 of 22 (324 Views)

Re: MTEXT Field data location

10-19-2012 02:26 PM in reply to: atklump

Does it matter? My first response is correct; there is no way (with out programing) to get c3d info int a field.

 

Cut and paste, but that would be double posting a double post :smileysurprised:

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,936
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 12 of 22 (315 Views)

Re: MTEXT Field data location

10-20-2012 08:06 AM in reply to: atklump

Deflections are included if you use an Alignment with your pipes.  It is under Label Styles, Tangent Intersection.

 

Bill

 

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,188
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 13 of 22 (312 Views)

Re: MTEXT Field data location

10-20-2012 12:31 PM in reply to: wfberry

yes but you can't access it from the structure label style

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Contributor
atklump
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎10-18-2012
Message 14 of 22 (263 Views)

Re: MTEXT Field data location

11-02-2012 02:26 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Sorry Joe,

No luck on the multiling labeling in GIS.  Our two GIS guys don't work with labels often enough to know.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,188
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 15 of 22 (245 Views)

Re: MTEXT Field data location

11-05-2012 05:51 AM in reply to: atklump

Thanks for looking

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 720
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 16 of 22 (233 Views)

Re: MTEXT Field data location

11-05-2012 01:17 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Civil 3D doesn't have a pipe line / structure label like this of label built in.

 

I would make two labels and place them on together. The structure label would label the size and number, and the aligment label would label the turned angle. I might add a short line seg to the "top" label so that I could snap the "bottom" label into position.

 

Regards,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,188
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 17 of 22 (230 Views)

Re: MTEXT Field data location

11-05-2012 01:49 PM in reply to: peterfunkautodesk

Thanks Peter

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Contributor
atklump
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎10-18-2012
Message 18 of 22 (198 Views)

Re: MTEXT Field data location

11-27-2012 02:02 PM in reply to: peterfunkautodesk

Peter,

 

It appears you are an employee of autodesk.  Could you find out why wouldn't autodesk have labels generated to function similar to mtext?  Be able to add fields to the labels, and make it annotative to improve efficiency of labeling?

 

They made something that seems very robust, but if the general user can't figure it out intuitively, then it is relatively worthless.  Small companies can't afford the additional training required to optimize this stuff, especially when it can barely afford the subscription. 

 

The work around doesn't work when you have it oriented different in various viewports.

 

Thanks for the suggestion though Peter.

Adam

Valued Mentor
Hidden_Brain
Posts: 712
Registered: ‎03-24-2009
Message 19 of 22 (187 Views)

Re: MTEXT Field data location

11-27-2012 05:05 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Joe,

not sure if I completely grasped your question about multiline label (your question was on ArcGIS or Map 3D?), but are you trying to add labels composed of multiple lines pulling info from different attribute fields in ArcGIS? if so, you may be able to accomplish what you need with VB label expression using the  vbCrLf function. please see attached image for an example, labels the drainage area name, divides the sq.ft area by 43560, rounds it, and labels the arcreage in the second line.

Avishek Chhibber, P.E., CFM
Civil 3D 2014 SP2, Win 7-64 bit
8GB RAM
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,188
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 20 of 22 (181 Views)

Re: MTEXT Field data location

11-27-2012 06:45 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Hi YoungPE,

 

It the Mad3d I'm working in, I have since gotten into the expression builder, but in 2012 the enhanced label interface added a wizard that does do what I intuitivly expect it to do.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.