AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
jmclefresh
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-06-2014
Message 1 of 3 (105 Views)
Accepted Solution

Moving a point

105 Views, 2 Replies
05-15-2014 09:43 AM
When the field crew started the Back of Walk line it came, into the drawing, past the Face of Curb. This was due to the C3 command that created an arch on the Curb line. I moved the point and the tin lines and contours followed. Yet the small circle remains and I cannot get it to move. Why did it not move with the point marker? Will the circle have any effect on the drawing?
Attached is a screen shot of the problem. I am using Civil 3D 2014. The data was imported using Field Books. I can recreate the problem as a drawing if required or upload the corrected drawing. I moved the point and trimmed the line. What remained was a small circle that I could not move. If I deleted it, the point was deleted also. What is the circle? Also, there are many places that you can select and list the drawing points: if you right click on a point that is listed you get a sub menu. Example: Open Toolspace, Select the Prospector Tab. Right click on Points. If you select Lock or Unlock nothing happens. If you Highlight a point and select Edit Point this gives you another Panorama. You can make some changes to the point, but, only on the Command Line. Why not the Panorama? (As a side note, I’m still trying to find a light switch, for my house, that has “TRUE or FALSE” on it instead of “ON” or “OFF”.) The problem of the circle and point was solved by: I found the Northing and Easting where I wanted the point and the line to start. (Of course I forgot that this great program defaults, sometimes, to Easting, Northing in some Panoramas’.) I made the changes in the Field Book and the Panorama, imported the changed book and the line and point were in the correct location.
*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 2,019
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 2 of 3 (60 Views)

Re: Moving a point

05-19-2014 09:20 AM in reply to: jmclefresh

Welcome to the forum!

 

What version are you using and can you upload the dwg file for someone to examine?

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.






Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Customization


Other Helpful links:
My File is too large to post or I can't post it due to privacy issues!
Active Member
jmclefresh
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-06-2014
Message 3 of 3 (49 Views)

Re: Moving a point

05-19-2014 11:33 AM in reply to: doni49
Attached is a screen shot of the problem. I am using Civil 3D 2014. The data was imported using Field Books. I can recreate the problem as a drawing if required or upload the corrected drawing. I moved the point and trimmed the line. What remained was a small circle that I could not move. If I deleted it, the point was deleted also. What is the circle? Also, there are many places that you can select and list the drawing points: if you right click on a point that is listed you get a sub menu. Example: Open Toolspace, Select the Prospector Tab. Right click on Points. If you select Lock or Unlock nothing happens. If you Highlight a point and select Edit Point this gives you another Panorama. You can make some changes to the point, but, only on the Command Line. Why not the Panorama? (As a side note, I’m still trying to find a light switch, for my house, that has “TRUE or FALSE” on it instead of “ON” or “OFF”.) The problem of the circle and point was solved by: I found the Northing and Easting where I wanted the point and the line to start. (Of course I forgot that this great program defaults, sometimes, to Easting, Northing in some Panoramas’.) I made the changes in the Field Book and the Panorama, imported the changed book and the line and point were in the correct location.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.