AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
glen.cameron
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎01-29-2010
Message 1 of 19 (1,794 Views)
Accepted Solution

Move/Rotate entire drawing

1794 Views, 18 Replies
02-15-2012 10:48 AM

Here is my situation: Drawing started in LDD a few years ago.  It was on a local coordinate system of 1000,1000.

The drawing has since been migrated to C3D2012.  Now we have data in UTM coordinates that we need to match to the old data.  Actually, we want to shift/rotate the entire original set of data to match the new UTM data, so we can continue in UTM for all future data collection.

 

So, I went through and turned all layers on, Thawed them and unlocked them.  I made sure all points were visable, etc.  Then I tried to move the original data (I also tried the align command, etc., with the same results) and found a glitch.  After I moved the data, I found that there was some points and survey figures as well as a cooridore, that had not moved.  The vast majority of the drawing had moved as expected, but the afore mentioned data would not move.

 

Does anyone have any ideas on what I may have missed?  Or can this excercise even be done?

 

Thanks in advance,

 

Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
Engineering Technician 1
City of North Bay
North Bay, Ontario, Canada
I finally had some time to dig into this and get a working solution. What I finally did to get this to work was: 1) I started a new clean drawing using my normal template drawing. 2) I created a new Survey Database 3) I imported the FBK file that was on UTM coordinates (which needed to be moved/rotated to a local coordinate system in an existing drawing) 4) I added a line to go between 2 control points from the old coordinate system into the new drawing (this will be used as a referance to apply the translation of the new data) 5) I ran the Translate database command to move/rotate all the new survey data and survey figures to the old corresponding control point locations. 6) After confirming the move/rotation went correctly in the new drawing, I saved the drawing and exited. 7) I then opened the old drawing 8) I inserted the new drawing into the old drawing at 0,0 so they remain on the same coordinate system. As it was being inserted I ensured the Explode option was checked on. 9) Once it was inserted I checked the new survey points and the points were all added to the old database. The survey firgures had also all been added to the old drawing, all at the correct local coordinate system, as desired. 10) I could then create my point groups, etc. as desired. Life is good now! I want to thank all those that did provide their comments and suggestions - without all of you I probably would not have figured this out. So I wnated to summarize my steps in case it helps someone else in the future! Cheers,
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,519
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 2 of 19 (1,781 Views)

Re: Move/Rotate entire drawing

02-15-2012 11:17 AM in reply to: glen.cameron

The corridor should move when you rebuild it (it's based on the alignment locations). If the points that don't move are Survey points, (I don't use survey points so not sure about this) they may need to be unlocked in the Survey database...same thing for the figures.

 

If you have surfaces in the drawing, which are defined by drawing objects, don't move the surface. It will move when rebuilt as well....any manual edits will be lost since these are based on absolute xyz values.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Valued Contributor
TCARCAMO78
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎06-02-2010
Message 3 of 19 (1,777 Views)

Re: Move/Rotate entire drawing

02-15-2012 11:22 AM in reply to: glen.cameron

Ok here is what i would have done. i would setup or open your new drawing that has the UTM coordinate system. Xref in your old drawing file. Then move, rotate and align the xref drawing to your new coordinate system. Then bind the xref dwg into your current drawing. See if that works. I dont deal a lot with the suverying side but im not surprise that your points and survey figures didnt move. Anyways hopefully that works for your.

 

 

Tony

CAD Manager

www.tonyscivil3dworld.blogspot.com

 

Tony Carcamo
CAD Manager
www.tonyscivil3dworld.blogspot.com
Valued Contributor
glen.cameron
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎01-29-2010
Message 4 of 19 (1,770 Views)

Re: Move/Rotate entire drawing

02-15-2012 11:36 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

I have checked and nothing appears to be locked, point, point groups, etc..  I realize that surfaces, etc. will update after the movement of the points, minus edits, and that does not worry me.  It is the ppoints and survey figures that won't move and I can't finad anywhere showing that they are locked.

 

I will try the Xref option and see if that gets around the issue.

 

Thanks for the input!

 

Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
Engineering Technician 1
City of North Bay
North Bay, Ontario, Canada
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,782
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 5 of 19 (1,758 Views)

Re: Move/Rotate entire drawing

02-15-2012 11:46 AM in reply to: glen.cameron

I guess the right command is _ALIGN in this case, not _MOVE...

Valued Contributor
glen.cameron
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎01-29-2010
Message 6 of 19 (1,756 Views)

Re: Move/Rotate entire drawing

02-15-2012 11:48 AM in reply to: TCARCAMO78

Good thought but it did not work either.  I did the XREF and aligned it in 2D as desired.  Then I tried to BIND the XREF both as an Insert and a Bind, and got the following error:

 

"Error: At least one of the specified xrefs failed to bind for an unknown reason."

 

 

Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
Engineering Technician 1
City of North Bay
North Bay, Ontario, Canada
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,519
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 7 of 19 (1,753 Views)

Re: Move/Rotate entire drawing

02-15-2012 11:56 AM in reply to: glen.cameron

Surfaces are known to cause Xrefs not to bind....

 

Can you post, or email, the dwg? 

jeffm AT quuxsoft DOT com

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Valued Contributor
glen.cameron
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎01-29-2010
Message 8 of 19 (1,751 Views)

Re: Move/Rotate entire drawing

02-15-2012 12:16 PM in reply to: glen.cameron

OKay - let's get even more straight forward.

 

I start a new drawing using our template.  I import a small FBK file and try to manually move a point - no luck.

 

If I manually set a COGO point, I am able to move it.

 

So it appears it has to do with the points coming from a FBK file or similar.

 

Hmmmmm.

Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
Engineering Technician 1
City of North Bay
North Bay, Ontario, Canada
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,519
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 9 of 19 (1,747 Views)

Re: Move/Rotate entire drawing

02-15-2012 12:28 PM in reply to: glen.cameron

Yes, as I mentioned before, they must be unlocked in the survey database. The other points not moving correctly are the LDT points. They have the 'true' Northing/Easting embedded in the point, so you end up moving the label, but it points back to the 'true' N/E. To get around this, convert these points to C3D points before the move/rotate.

 

You may be able to convert the FBK to be on the same new coordinate system and rotation by drawing linework connecting the new known location to the control points used to define the location of the FBK. Move/rotate just that linework, extract the coordinates you want the control points to be at, edit the FBK accordingly. There may (probably are) be other ways to do this, hopefully someone who uses the FBK's more than I can chime in on this part of it.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Valued Contributor
glen.cameron
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎01-29-2010
Message 10 of 19 (1,743 Views)

Re: Move/Rotate entire drawing

02-15-2012 12:41 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

Okay - I finally found where I can unlock the survey point database for the FBK files.  Now I can move the points generated from the FBK.

 

However - the Figures do not seem to have an unlock option in the same menu area.  I still can't move them.

 

Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
Engineering Technician 1
City of North Bay
North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.