AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,031
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 1 of 14 (228 Views)

Missing target

228 Views, 13 Replies
06-30-2011 06:14 AM

I have yet to fully grasp the intersection wizard so I still do them the old way. I have a tee intersection where I will be placing a concrete vallet gutter in my flow path of 0.30%. As you can see in the image, I have two different elevations at the same location (not by design) the curb return assembly on the left wants to be an inch higher(wrong) than the the curb return on the right (correct) . I matched the stations in the parameter setting but can't seem to get it right. Any ideas? (Tried increasing the frequenct but the contours only get squirrellier)

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,923
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 14 (227 Views)

Re: Missing target

06-30-2011 06:19 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Image?

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,031
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 3 of 14 (218 Views)

Re: Missing target

06-30-2011 07:34 AM in reply to: jmayo

my bad as they say :smileywink:

 

bad target.PNG

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,923
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 14 (202 Views)

Re: Missing target

06-30-2011 09:22 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Do the target profiles have the same Z on the gutter line?

 

I know you know the intersection wizard would do this automatically. Run through the tutorial again or watch the videos.

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nhEb8MR5HbU

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WJC0vh0yT1U&feature=related

 

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,031
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 5 of 14 (186 Views)

Re: Missing target

06-30-2011 12:34 PM in reply to: jmayo

Sorry got under the gun. I double check I could be off by a thousandth :smileytongue:

 

I give the tutes anoth look. I couldn't figure out how to hold my flow path/ EOP profile.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,031
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 6 of 14 (176 Views)

Re: Missing target

06-30-2011 01:48 PM in reply to: jmayo

Dang! I'm blocked from youtube.

 

whats the deal with the widening alignment? do I ignore, where do I tell it my inbound and out bound return alignments and profiles?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,031
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 7 of 14 (158 Views)

Re: Missing target

07-01-2011 07:57 AM in reply to: jmayo

Ok, I'm much better off after the vids and experimenting. One thing I found helpful is to simply let the wizard create an intersection  with the default and then go into the corridor parameters to adjust offset alignment and profiles. This technique worked great except I have one quadrant in a tee that keeps disappearing when I select my minor road curb return profile and alignment. I have the minor road cl and 2 offsets that follow existing through the returns that I am creating on either side. this is legit, no?

 

I havent seen a video of people using ther own alignments and profiles. The wizard offsets and profiles are great for new construction, but  rehab has its confusing existing BS that we need to live with at times.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,923
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 14 (154 Views)

Re: Missing target

07-01-2011 08:10 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

"simply let the wizard create an intersection" Aboslutely.

 

" I have the minor road cl and 2 offsets that follow existing through the returns that I am creating on either side. this is legit, no"

Well the app really doesn't know existing from proposed. Perhaps the profile is a bit wacky? What kind of curves do you have in this profile? I have seen one type of curve mess up int's. Did you try to recreate the profile? Maybe try a simple Free Vertical Curve (Parameter) if you have a different type of VC.

 

"but  rehab has its confusing existing BS that we need to live with at times." You need to make everyone else's mistakes work. :smileywink:

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,031
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 9 of 14 (146 Views)

Re: Missing target

07-01-2011 09:12 AM in reply to: jmayo

Well the app really doesn't know existing from proposed. Perhaps the profile is a bit wacky? What kind of curves do you have in this profile? 

 

What I mean by follw existing is I have an alignment that is not perfectly paralell to the cl, and the profile is so flat I left it with grade breaks. I do have engineered returns, perhaps my minor road offset alignments  should not include the returns?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,923
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 10 of 14 (138 Views)

Re: Missing target

07-01-2011 11:37 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

I would normally keep the returns separate objects in a corridor.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.