AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
New Member
MrJuno
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-04-2012
Message 1 of 5 (2,719 Views)
Accepted Solution

MIssing FDO.DLL File

2719 Views, 4 Replies
01-04-2012 04:13 PM

When starting Civil 3D 2012 with CADWorx Steel installed the following message appears;

"The Program can't start because FDO.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem."

Civil 3D and CADWorx have been re-installed but problem still exists.

The file does exist in \Program Files (x86)\Autodesk\SSA 2012\Bin and \Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012\bin.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,983
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 5 (2,712 Views)

Re: MIssing FDO.DLL File

01-04-2012 04:46 PM in reply to: MrJuno

Hi,

 

if you look to _OPTIONS ==> tab "Files" .... does the path where you found the DLL exist in the list of support paths?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,872
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 3 of 5 (2,692 Views)

Re: MIssing FDO.DLL File

01-05-2012 05:20 AM in reply to: MrJuno

The file should exist in a path something like this: C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012\FDO\bin. At least in the FDO\bin folder under Civil 3D.

 

Did you do your install / re-install directly from DVD? For some reason this seems to miss files. If you have DVD, try copying the install to your hard drive and installing from there. Or you could just try copying the file from \Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012\bin there. 

 

I'm extrapolating from 2011 and previous version but don't see why 2012 would be much different.

 

Allen

New Member
MrJuno
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-04-2012
Message 4 of 5 (2,686 Views)

Re: MIssing FDO.DLL File

01-05-2012 06:11 AM in reply to: MrJuno

Gentlemen,

 

Thank for you for your prompt feedback. Adding the folder containing the FDO.DLL to the Support File Search Path worked, and it was a quick fix. The software was installed from the network, and I have experienced problems with network installations in the past. I suspect installing from the DVD would have also solved the problem, and may have been the "proper" thing to do. 

Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 5 of 5 (2,668 Views)

Re: MIssing FDO.DLL File

01-05-2012 07:02 AM in reply to: MrJuno

also, you should make sure you disable virus protection when you install - the .dll may be "quarantined" on the install and cause similar errors.


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.