AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
wang890
Posts: 827
Registered: ‎06-08-2007
Message 1 of 7 (289 Views)
Accepted Solution

Minimum curve radius for CAT777F at 30km/hr

289 Views, 6 Replies
12-16-2013 01:59 PM

anybody can work out the minimum turning radius of cat 777f at 30km/hr? need to figure out the horizontal curves to use for this.

 

we have been using 60 to 100m curves but i think it maybe smaller. small curves helps with these steep terrain.

Civil 3D 2012
Work: Xeon W3503, 12GB, Quadro 2000, Yamakasi Sparta 301 + Dell PH2211
Home: 3930k, 12GB, GTX 590, U3011, QX2710

According to this link the front turning diameter is 25.3m  It doesn't indicate whether that is the outside front wheel, or the body clearance however.

 

Edit - Found another link which specifies a turning clearance radius of 46' 7" - Google is your friend here...

 

Steve
Please use the Accept as Solution or Kudo buttons when appropriate

Valued Contributor
g_k50
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎03-05-2009
Message 2 of 7 (277 Views)

Re: Minimum curve radius for CAT777F at 30km/hr

12-16-2013 03:02 PM in reply to: wang890

That's a big dump truck isn't it?

 

I would go by what Cat recommends, What's the load limit?  What's the center of gravity?

would be a couple of questions I had If I wanted to do a study of how tight to make a curve that was outside of Cat approved specs.

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,193
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 3 of 7 (268 Views)

Re: Minimum curve radius for CAT777F at 30km/hr

12-16-2013 03:29 PM in reply to: g_k50

According to this link the front turning diameter is 25.3m  It doesn't indicate whether that is the outside front wheel, or the body clearance however.

 

Edit - Found another link which specifies a turning clearance radius of 46' 7" - Google is your friend here...

 

Steve
Please use the Accept as Solution or Kudo buttons when appropriate

Distinguished Contributor
entropist
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎01-04-2010
Message 4 of 7 (261 Views)

Re: Minimum curve radius for CAT777F at 30km/hr

12-16-2013 04:02 PM in reply to: wang890

It looks like sboon already posted the standard turning radius.

 

The part that caught my attention was the given speed. I wouldn't want to have to account for varying loads (centers of gravity) and turning at that kind of speed. Perhaps you could design something reasonable, and not allow yourself to be held accountable for how fast they drive. (Also, I'm glad I won't be anywhere near a cat777 going 30km/hr; MSHA sites I've worked on have a much lower speed limit :smileyhappy:

Valued Contributor
g_k50
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎03-05-2009
Message 5 of 7 (248 Views)

Re: Minimum curve radius for CAT777F at 30km/hr

12-16-2013 07:41 PM in reply to: entropist

The science and engineering of haul roads is complex indeed.  You want the fastest haul for obvious reasons. 

 

I wouldn't want to have a meeting with the Mine Engineer about why 8 million dollars is lying in the ditch and my

fall back position is gonna be "But they told me over at AutoCAD Civil 3D" that the turning radius could be changed.

Mentor
wang890
Posts: 827
Registered: ‎06-08-2007
Message 6 of 7 (240 Views)

Re: Minimum curve radius for CAT777F at 30km/hr

12-16-2013 08:12 PM in reply to: wang890
Thanks guys and mr. Boon.
So looks like 30m minimum is ok. Will post a slower speed at those curves. Mainly 60m so plenty safe I guess.

I thought 30kmh is slow. Guess it is fast.

Still a lot simpler than highway design. Seriously. It's pretty relaxing working on haul roads and civil 3d.
Civil 3D 2012
Work: Xeon W3503, 12GB, Quadro 2000, Yamakasi Sparta 301 + Dell PH2211
Home: 3930k, 12GB, GTX 590, U3011, QX2710
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,193
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 7 of 7 (216 Views)

Re: Minimum curve radius for CAT777F at 30km/hr

12-17-2013 08:42 AM in reply to: wang890

I found another link here with all sorts of useful information on haul road design.  Apparently max. loaded speeds of 50-60kmh are fairly common in the manufacturers specs, but your site geometry will probably force you to use lower design speeds.

 

Steve
Please use the Accept as Solution or Kudo buttons when appropriate

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post