AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
VernS
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-03-2013
Message 1 of 23 (313 Views)
Accepted Solution

Mill and Overlay Parameters

313 Views, 22 Replies
12-19-2013 09:54 AM

I am trying to overlay a large area,I have a design profile grade that I must use. I need the new edge of the overlay pavement to be 2" above the existing as long as the pavement cross slope is between 1% to 1.5% . If the slope goes above or below the min or max I need it to take the min or max. If I use the overlaymillandlevel2 I am unable to get it to use the overlay thickness since i am using a profile. Does anyone know how I can do this?

 

thanks

 

 

civil 3d 2011 with all service packs, Window 7

Intel E5630 @ 2.53GHz  2.53GHz

8 Gig Ram

If the lane widths are always fixed then it's easy.

 

Create a level horizontal generic link from the Assembly attachment point that is the CL profile elevation, out to the lane width offset, and test that location with the Conditional Cut/Fill subassembly for the Fill depth range that will effect your desired cross slope range. 

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,046
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 23 (305 Views)

Re: Mill and Overlay Parameters

12-19-2013 10:18 AM in reply to: VernS

if you have to be 2" at the edge then you'll need to find your profile from that parameter, right?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Active Member
VernS
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-03-2013
Message 3 of 23 (293 Views)

Re: Mill and Overlay Parameters

12-19-2013 11:42 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

I can only use the profile if the cross slope falls within the 1% to 1.5%. If the crossslope falls outside the min max with 2" at the edge of pavement then the 2" will vary and the min or max slope will control. If that makes sense.

thanks

 

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,046
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 4 of 23 (288 Views)

Re: Mill and Overlay Parameters

12-19-2013 11:59 AM in reply to: VernS
It may take more than one pass.
I would start with 2" overlay Match slope. Look at the sections and determine where to break it up? guessin here
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Active Member
VernS
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-03-2013
Message 5 of 23 (284 Views)

Re: Mill and Overlay Parameters

12-19-2013 12:40 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Thanks for the quick replies Joe, I am trying to think outside the box to come up with a way to do this. If I have any luck I will post the solution.

thanks

 

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,046
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 6 of 23 (279 Views)

Re: Mill and Overlay Parameters

12-19-2013 01:03 PM in reply to: VernS
Good luck Vern

Let me know how it goes. I know the OM2 can get frustrating
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 1,111
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 7 of 23 (273 Views)

Re: Mill and Overlay Parameters

12-19-2013 01:24 PM in reply to: VernS

This subassembly has been confirmed as defective. See the thread below:

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D-General/Confirmed-Defect-OverlayMillAndLevel2-Subasse...

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,174
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 8 of 23 (268 Views)

Re: Mill and Overlay Parameters

12-19-2013 01:40 PM in reply to: VernS

I'm confused here.  You have a design profile at the crown or at the edges?  OM&L2 has an optional profile at the center but I don't see anything for the edge elevations. 

 

I'm wondering if OverlayWidenFromCurb would work.  Use two generic links to move over to the existing edge of pavement, then up 2" to the attachment point for the overlay sub.  If you use the profile option then you could check the calculated slopes in your corridor then adjust the profile as required.

 

Steve
Please use the Accept as Solution or Kudo buttons when appropriate

Active Member
VernS
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-03-2013
Message 9 of 23 (259 Views)

Re: Mill and Overlay Parameters

12-19-2013 01:53 PM in reply to: sboon

I have a profile grade at the centerline. I tried the OverlayWidenFromCurb assembly but I don't see how to connect it to profile. All I see is set a distance above the existing surface. I have tried everything I can think of and still can't get the final product I need. Hopefully someone has an idea that will work. Thanks for the suggestions, I am willing to try anything at the moment.

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,174
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 10 of 23 (254 Views)

Re: Mill and Overlay Parameters

12-19-2013 02:00 PM in reply to: VernS

Here's the parameter list I have for OWFCurb.  I don't see anything about a distance above surface.

 

Clipboard01.png

 

When I built a corridor using this I have a targeting option there for the inside edge profile of the overlay.

 

Steve
Please use the Accept as Solution or Kudo buttons when appropriate

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.