AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
jak79
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎05-09-2008
Message 1 of 9 (356 Views)

Merge 2012 pipe catalog into 2013

356 Views, 8 Replies
09-27-2012 07:51 AM

I have install Civil 3D 2013.

 

In my 2012 release I added several parts into the pipe catalog. I would like to merge those 2012 parts into my new 2013 pipe catalog. What is the practice to do this?

 

Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,964
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 9 (339 Views)

Re: Merge 2012 pipe catalog into 2013

09-27-2012 01:05 PM in reply to: jak79

I would thing you could replace the 13 catalog files with the 12, no?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,753
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 3 of 9 (334 Views)

Re: Merge 2012 pipe catalog into 2013

09-27-2012 01:50 PM in reply to: jak79
No, Joe. That could be bad. No, there's a document in help that outlines this. Search for Migrate Pipe Catalog and I think you'll find it.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,964
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 4 of 9 (328 Views)

Re: Merge 2012 pipe catalog into 2013

09-27-2012 02:05 PM in reply to: mathewk

Well, guess I should be more careful shooting from the hip

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,753
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 5 of 9 (325 Views)

Re: Merge 2012 pipe catalog into 2013

09-27-2012 02:09 PM in reply to: jak79
Well, Joe, it probably wouldn't be the worst thing to do. There are 2 scenarios:
1. You'd miss out on any new content in the 2013 catalog.
2. You can't rely on both catalogs being compatible.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Distinguished Contributor
jak79
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎05-09-2008
Message 6 of 9 (324 Views)

Re: Merge 2012 pipe catalog into 2013

09-27-2012 02:09 PM in reply to: jak79

Thanks Matt

 

I found the article and it looks very helpful.

 

Thanks again.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,964
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 7 of 9 (322 Views)

Re: Merge 2012 pipe catalog into 2013

09-27-2012 02:11 PM in reply to: mathewk

Thanks for the tip :smileyvery-happy:

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Active Contributor
mark100177
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎08-04-2011
Message 8 of 9 (261 Views)

Re: Merge 2012 pipe catalog into 2013

12-05-2012 11:56 AM in reply to: mathewk

Hi,

 

I'm trying to do the same thing, though I'm in 2012 trying to bring in custom 2011 pipes/structures. 

The instructions I get via 2012 C3D regarding migrating say to copy the Pipes Catalog files over, then to use the PIPECATALOGREGEN command.  Is this the same for 2013?  The problem is that after I type in that command, it responds back and says that it is an unknown command.  Any ideas of what is happening? 

 

I'm thinking there is either something wrong with my Civil 3D; my help file points to a 2013 help file over the internet instead??? (I don't have 2013 installed); or there is an error in the command name?

 

I'm stuck.  Any help would be appreciated.

 

Thanks,

Mark

Active Contributor
mark100177
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎08-04-2011
Message 9 of 9 (251 Views)

Re: Merge 2012 pipe catalog into 2013

12-05-2012 01:33 PM in reply to: mark100177

Nevermind....

 

The help file that you were referring to, at least for 2012, says to use the PIPECATALOGREGEN command.  That doesn't work.  It's supposed to be PARTCATALOGREGEN. 

 

I'm assuming the help file was corrected in 2013, which is why the op used it with success.

 

Thanks,

Mark

 

In case you wanna see, I attached a screenshot of my helpfile.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.