AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
csevers
Posts: 142
Registered: ‎10-28-2011
Message 1 of 14 (877 Views)
Accepted Solution

Match Prop in 2013

877 Views, 13 Replies
05-21-2013 11:44 AM

I just started a job in which we are required to use C3d 2013. I've noticed a number of minor changes, none that I mind that much.

The one complaint is I can't find where they hid the match properties button in 2013. It used to be up there on the home tab in the modify panel, but I can't find it anywhere now. I know I could use the command matchprop, however this was really the only ribbon buttons I used for drafting (matchprop takes longer to type then clicking the button). Please don't tell me it's gone, I'll be heartbroken, why fix something that ain't broken! 

Chris Severs, EI
Windows 7 x 64 bit
NVidia Quadro 2000 Dual Monitor
6.00 GB RAM
Intel Xeon W3550 @ 3.07 GHz
Civil 3D 2013 SP 2, Civil 3D 2012 SP2, Civil 3D 2011 V3, Civil 3D 2010 V3
*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,281
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 2 of 14 (869 Views)

Re: Match Prop in 2013

05-21-2013 12:01 PM in reply to: csevers

It's still there on the "clipboard" panel on Home Tab of ribbon.

 

Is your clipboard panel toggled off?

 

clip.PNG

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,520
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 3 of 14 (864 Views)

Re: Match Prop in 2013

05-21-2013 12:03 PM in reply to: Jay_B
It's misleading of AutoDesk to put it on the Clipboard panel, since (correct me if I'm wrong, but AFAIK) it doesn't do anything with the Windows clipboard at all.
I use keyboard shortcuts extensively (I use MM for MATCHPROP) so I don't even notice when they change the icons or move them around.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,281
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 4 of 14 (862 Views)

Re: Match Prop in 2013

05-21-2013 12:07 PM in reply to: troma

Agreed it's not the most logical place to put it, 2012 has on both the Modify and the clipboard panels.

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Distinguished Contributor
csevers
Posts: 142
Registered: ‎10-28-2011
Message 5 of 14 (849 Views)

Re: Match Prop in 2013

05-21-2013 12:29 PM in reply to: troma

I typically use commands as well, I just didn't like typing matchprop, and the button was so huge and right there it was very convenient. Thanks though, I think I'll use mm from now on, never knew about that abbreviation.

My clipboard icon is still there. I use that somewhat frequently, I just didn't think to check there. I checked in the modify tools and draw tools. I use the clipboard buttons sometimes because I've found that the right-click and paste to original coordinates command is bugged, and only works about 1/2 the time, the ribbon button command always works though.

Chris Severs, EI
Windows 7 x 64 bit
NVidia Quadro 2000 Dual Monitor
6.00 GB RAM
Intel Xeon W3550 @ 3.07 GHz
Civil 3D 2013 SP 2, Civil 3D 2012 SP2, Civil 3D 2011 V3, Civil 3D 2010 V3
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,520
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 6 of 14 (843 Views)

Re: Match Prop in 2013

05-21-2013 12:32 PM in reply to: csevers
I don't think MM is a regular abbreviation, it's one that I set up for myself.
I believe MA is the abbreviation by default, test that one out.
If you want to get into setting up your own abbreviations you can do it by adding them to the bottom of your acad.pgp file. I have about 20 or 30 in there.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Valued Mentor
dmartin
Posts: 406
Registered: ‎04-09-2013
Message 7 of 14 (833 Views)

Re: Match Prop in 2013

05-21-2013 12:58 PM in reply to: troma

If you click on the Purple A in the top left corner, you will notice a search bar near the top. If you type what command you are looking for it shows you the location on the ribbon. See Pic for example. I do not know how people attach the pictures directly.

Thanks,
Dave

Civil 3D 2013
HP Z400 Workstation
6GB of RAM
296GB HDD
ATI FirePro V5700(FireGL)
Win 7 Home Professional
Please use Kudos Where Deserved



*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,281
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 8 of 14 (828 Views)

Re: Match Prop in 2013

05-21-2013 01:01 PM in reply to: dmartin

Here.

Capture.PNG

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Valued Mentor
dmartin
Posts: 406
Registered: ‎04-09-2013
Message 9 of 14 (822 Views)

Re: Match Prop in 2013

05-21-2013 01:03 PM in reply to: Jay_B

Thanks!!!

Thanks,
Dave

Civil 3D 2013
HP Z400 Workstation
6GB of RAM
296GB HDD
ATI FirePro V5700(FireGL)
Win 7 Home Professional
Please use Kudos Where Deserved



Valued Mentor
dmartin
Posts: 406
Registered: ‎04-09-2013
Message 10 of 14 (809 Views)

Re: Match Prop in 2013

05-21-2013 01:09 PM in reply to: dmartin

Example

Thanks,
Dave

Civil 3D 2013
HP Z400 Workstation
6GB of RAM
296GB HDD
ATI FirePro V5700(FireGL)
Win 7 Home Professional
Please use Kudos Where Deserved



Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.