AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
pireland
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-22-2008
Message 1 of 5 (456 Views)

Marked Points and Connections to Them

456 Views, 4 Replies
09-04-2008 04:52 PM
Hi! I am having troubles creating a depressed median assembly and I am unsure what is happening. From my median control point, I am establishing my inner lane edge points, and then pavement and inner shoulder edges. I am using MarkPoint to mark the right shoulder edge and using the left shoulder edge as my attachment point for the LinkSlopesBetweenPoints sub-assembly to insert the median ditch. What I get (labelled Layout Mode" is as per the attachment. I get exactly the same thing any time I try to use LinkToMarkedPoint, as well.

Help says something enigmatic about assemblies being in Layout mode if there is no corridor yet. I therefore create a corridor specifying alignment profile and this assembly before continuing and all is fine until I attempt to use one of these link functions. At this point I get an orange exclamation point beside my corridor in Prospector, along with this all-too-familiar result.

Can anyone explain to me what is happening here?

TIA!
*Matt Kolberg
Message 2 of 5 (456 Views)

Re: Marked Points and Connections to Them

09-04-2008 09:23 PM in reply to: pireland
1. It's gonna lok like that in Layout mode forever. Can't get past that.
2. If it's not working in your corridor it's probably that you defined the
link to marked point first and then the marked point after. Edit the
assembly properties and move the marked point up above the link to marked
point, or in this case, the median.

Matt
Member
pireland
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-22-2008
Message 3 of 5 (456 Views)

Re: Marked Points and Connections to Them

09-05-2008 10:02 AM in reply to: pireland
Thanks Matt,

I think that part of my confusion has been coming from equating "Layout Mode" to "Paper Space". I was also expecting to see the median ditch drawn, as evidence of a successful sub-assembly insertion. If it is "gonna look like that in Layout mode forever" I'm just going to have to get used to that concept... :-)

As for it not working in my corridor, I am nowhere near ready yet to make that determination, as I have gotten only to this point in creating my assembly. I created the corridor selecting the assembly baseline, in the hopes that this might change something with regard to median ditch visibility, but it didn't.

I then became completel;y confused when I reverted to building the ditch using first LinkWidthAndSlope (that worked) and then LinkToMarkedPoint. The latter gave bme the exact same result as I got earlier with LinkSlopeBetweenPoints.

I will soldier on then and complete the assembly construction, assuming that this will work. Hopefully I am not still missing something here!

Peter
Member
pireland
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-22-2008
Message 4 of 5 (456 Views)

Re: Marked Points and Connections to Them

09-05-2008 04:10 PM in reply to: pireland
One further observation is that the second I apply one of these "link to marked point" sub-assemblies, I get an orange exclamation beside my corridor in Prospector. Nothing appears out of the ordinary (from what I can tell) in the corridor properties, however.
New Member
tbeer
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-14-2012
Message 5 of 5 (201 Views)

Re: Marked Points and Connections to Them

10-18-2012 01:32 PM in reply to: *Matt Kolberg

i am trying to use the link slopes between points to connect 2 parralel alignments and i dont know how to set the code properly or to link it to the second alignment nothing registers have no clue how to set these marked point assenblies i need help

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.