AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
Postmaster_G
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎12-20-2012
Message 1 of 13 (389 Views)

Mark items in alignment view to display in profile view...

389 Views, 12 Replies
12-20-2012 09:58 AM

Hello all! Civil 3D noob here... Though I have been using ACAD for about 5+ years, I have now begun using it for design by way of Civil 3D (about 3 months now).:robottongue:

 

Not knowing where to start makes it hard to know what to search for... so I appologize if this has been discussed previously.

 

I was wondering if after drawing an alignment, creating a profile, and profile view, is there a way I can mark items along the alignment so they could show up in the profile view.  I am laying out a pipeline and want to have the profile display a marker for items such as tees, elbows, reducers and other items.  The marker I would like to use will be something like the vertical style grade break markers.

 

Also on a side note, as each of these items will have a different name, is there a way that I can add these markers and then have each one with a unique name?

 

Thank you for your help!!!

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,524
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 2 of 13 (385 Views)

Re: Mark items in alignment view to display in profile view...

12-20-2012 10:30 AM in reply to: Postmaster_G

Look up the command for Project Objects to Profile View.

The commandline version is PROJECTOBJECTSTOPROF

It should also show up on the ribbon when you select your profile view.

 

There are a number of options for the style of the projction and its label, and the elevation for it.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Valued Contributor
Postmaster_G
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎12-20-2012
Message 3 of 13 (377 Views)

Re: Mark items in alignment view to display in profile view...

12-20-2012 11:10 AM in reply to: troma

That seems to work pretty well.  What type of objects can I make that can each have its own name.

 

I created a simple block called SPOT.  I placed it on the alignment where a given tee is located.  Then I copied and pasted that block onto the next tee.  When I project them to the profile they get named SPOT-1 and SPOT-2.  On the label I am using the object name field and it displays the name.

 

It would seem that doing it this way would mean I would have to ceate 200+ blocks each with its own name?

 

Are there other types of autocad objects that I can insert repeatedly, each one having its own name.  As far as the plan view size I would want the object to be a very small spot.

 

Thank you :smileyhappy:

 

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,524
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 4 of 13 (375 Views)

Re: Mark items in alignment view to display in profile view...

12-20-2012 11:21 AM in reply to: Postmaster_G

Do you really need distinct names, or could you use the station to distinguish between them?

 

Another option is to make a unique layer for each.  You can label the source object layer instead of name.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Valued Contributor
Postmaster_G
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎12-20-2012
Message 5 of 13 (369 Views)

Re: Mark items in alignment view to display in profile view...

12-20-2012 11:25 AM in reply to: troma

I guess you are right... I only need probably 5-10 names.  TEE, REDUCER, HIGH POINT... ETC.

 

Perhaps I can have them as layers or object-1 object-2 and so on.

 

 

*Pro
dgordon
Posts: 1,474
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Message 6 of 13 (366 Views)

Re: Mark items in alignment view to display in profile view...

12-20-2012 11:29 AM in reply to: Postmaster_G

why didn't you project the blocks you already has as tee, hydrant, bend, etc...?

Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500
www.preinnewhof.com
Valued Contributor
Postmaster_G
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎12-20-2012
Message 7 of 13 (326 Views)

Re: Mark items in alignment view to display in profile view...

01-10-2013 03:26 PM in reply to: dgordon

The drawing is not a detailed drawing, it is an overall site plan.  Simple line work represents the piping.

 

This is what I ended up doing for now...

 

To label TEEs in the profile, I created a very small block (tiny circle with a tiny solid hatch) on its own layer called [4"x6"TEE].

 

Then I placed the block at each TEE location.

 

Next I would click project objects to profile.

 

Then I had to tediously select each block.

 

Then I change the label style text contents by adding in the "Source Layer"

 

Seems like this should be easier but it looks fine and didn't take too long.

 

Thanks for the advice!

 

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,524
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 8 of 13 (314 Views)

Re: Mark items in alignment view to display in profile view...

01-11-2013 07:04 AM in reply to: Postmaster_G

Should be easier....
Set up a label style with the right contents ahead of time.

When you go to project the block to profile view, make sure to select the right label.

If you click the column heading you can set the label for all of them at the same time.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,524
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 9 of 13 (313 Views)

Re: Mark items in alignment view to display in profile view...

01-11-2013 07:07 AM in reply to: troma

You can go one step further and edit the command default settings to default to the desired marker style and label style every time you project items to profile view.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Valued Contributor
Postmaster_G
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎12-20-2012
Message 10 of 13 (306 Views)

Re: Mark items in alignment view to display in profile view...

01-11-2013 09:14 AM in reply to: troma

Well I did get a label style setup after the first set of items had been projected.  So when the next set of items were projected, I was able to do as you said and just set them all.  The part I was hoping would be easier would be selecting all of the items between the time you click on project items to profile and when you hit enter and then select your options.  It would be nice if I could do some sort of quick select or select previous...

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.