AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,889
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 11 of 15 (167 Views)

Re: Manual Data entry

06-19-2012 12:01 PM in reply to: ace98989

What would you say if you could write on it?

 

Seriously now, there are quite a few ways to add points.  May I suggest you go to the help screen top right of your screen and select Tutorials.  Do ALL of those tutorials, particulary those concerning points.  You should find some help here.

 

Bill

 

 

Valued Mentor
KirkNoonan
Posts: 437
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 12 of 15 (159 Views)

Re: Manual Data entry

06-19-2012 12:38 PM in reply to: wfberry

People here are extremely kind. In the rest of the IT world it is aka - RTFM

*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,889
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 13 of 15 (153 Views)

Re: Manual Data entry

06-19-2012 12:55 PM in reply to: KirkNoonan

:smileywink:

Distinguished Mentor
OMCUSNR
Posts: 506
Registered: ‎04-28-2010
Message 14 of 15 (139 Views)

Re: Manual Data entry

06-19-2012 08:15 PM in reply to: ace98989

ace98989 wrote:

field data...


Hmmm,

 

There is a difference in C3d between cogo points and survey points.  If you manually enter "field data" you'll get cogo points.  If you import your field book, you'll get sruvey points.  Just curious, what format is your field data in?  N,E,Z,D? Turned angles?  Bearings & distances?

 

The tutorials are always a good place to start, but, with C3d, a VERY cost effective way to get up to speed is to pay for instruction.  It truely will save a huge amount of time & frustration by taking a 2 or 3 day training session.

 

I speak from experience, not from trying to sell training.

 

Reid

 

OH, BTW, if you're a surveyor trying to use C3d, might I plug Sinc's Sincpac addin?   http://www.quuxsoft.com/  I have no vested interest in it, it just has a bunch of routines that make a surveyor's life in C3d a whole lot easier.    

Homebuilt box: I5-2500k, MSI P67A-GD65, 12gig DDR3 1600 ram, ASUS ENGTX460 Video card, WD Velociraptor WD4500HLHX HD, Win 7 64 pro.
Valued Mentor
david.zavislan
Posts: 274
Registered: ‎10-31-2006
Message 15 of 15 (129 Views)

Re: Manual Data entry

06-20-2012 08:17 AM in reply to: ace98989

Manually entering survey data can be done through the Survey Command Window.  This command is available by right-clicking on a survey database network.  The database must be opened for editing.

 SurveyCommandWindow1.jpg

Data is entered using the same survey command language that is used in field book files.

 

David Zavislan, P.E. | Wood Rodgers, Inc.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.