AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
tjboyer
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎01-26-2005
Message 1 of 7 (127 Views)

Making a TIN and Contours?

127 Views, 6 Replies
01-26-2005 02:01 PM
I have inserted a topo point file into a point group, created a TIN surface, and added the point data to the surface. Is the TIN itself already created, if so can I view the triangles on the drawing? And then how do you generate and view the contours? Thanks in advance for any help!!
*Laurie Comerford
Message 2 of 7 (127 Views)

Re: Making a TIN and Contours?

01-26-2005 03:29 PM in reply to: tjboyer
Hi, Can you confirm you are using Civil 3D and not Land Desktop? The answers are different. -- Regards, Laurie Comerford www.cadapps.com.au "tjboyer" wrote in message news:28917625.1106776905004.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum2.autodesk.com... >I have inserted a topo point file into a point group, created a TIN >surface, and added the point data to the surface. Is the TIN itself already >created, if so can I view the triangles on the drawing? And then how do you >generate and view the contours? Thanks in advance for any help!!
*Neil W
Message 3 of 7 (127 Views)

Re: Making a TIN and Contours?

01-26-2005 03:35 PM in reply to: tjboyer
You have defined the elements that will make up the TIN, namely which points to use. Now you must build the TIN. Simply right click on the surface in Terrain model explorer and select the "Build" option. After you have built the TIN you can display it using various options. These options are found in the Surface Display options under the Terrain Menu. You can also create contours after you have built the TIN using the Create Contours command under the Terrain Menu. "tjboyer" wrote in message news:28917625.1106776905004.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum2.autodesk.com... >I have inserted a topo point file into a point group, created a TIN >surface, and added the point data to the surface. Is the TIN itself already >created, if so can I view the triangles on the drawing? And then how do you >generate and view the contours? Thanks in advance for any help!!
Contributor
tjboyer
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎01-26-2005
Message 4 of 7 (127 Views)

Re: Making a TIN and Contours?

01-27-2005 05:04 AM in reply to: tjboyer
Yes, I am using C3D
*Neil W
Message 5 of 7 (127 Views)

Re: Making a TIN and Contours?

01-27-2005 05:51 AM in reply to: tjboyer
Oops! "Laurie Comerford" wrote in message news:41f8286b_3@newsprd01... > Hi, > > Can you confirm you are using Civil 3D and not Land Desktop? > > The answers are different. > > -- > > Regards, > > > Laurie Comerford > www.cadapps.com.au > > "tjboyer" wrote in message > news:28917625.1106776905004.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum2.autodesk.com... >>I have inserted a topo point file into a point group, created a TIN >>surface, and added the point data to the surface. Is the TIN itself >>already created, if so can I view the triangles on the drawing? And then >>how do you generate and view the contours? Thanks in advance for any >>help!! > >
Contributor
tjboyer
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎01-26-2005
Message 6 of 7 (127 Views)

Re: Making a TIN and Contours?

01-27-2005 10:05 AM in reply to: tjboyer
Do you know the steps to make a TIN and contours in C3D?
Contributor
rgadbaw
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎10-30-2001
Message 7 of 7 (127 Views)

Re: Making a TIN and Contours?

01-27-2005 10:14 AM in reply to: tjboyer
I take it you see a boundary around the outside edge of your surface. If this is the case just click on the boundary and right click and go to Edit Surface Style. (I am taking it you probably don't have any other styles in your drawing) Once the dialog box comes up go to the display tab and turn on the contour layers and the triangles. Then press ok and you should see your surface.

Robert
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!