AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
autoMick
Posts: 251
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
Message 1 of 4 (109 Views)
Accepted Solution

making a block (from exploded surface) un-selectable

109 Views, 3 Replies
12-13-2012 04:28 PM

OK folks....

 

I've got a surface that I want to be semi-tranparent, it seems the only practical solution at the moment is to eXplode it so that layer transparency will affect it. Which is fine, I guess, for the time being (well actually it's not but we don't have much choice with 2013 do we?).

 

 

Putting that aside, my issue now is that every time I hover over the exploded block, it does a selection 'preview' which is distracting to say the least. So I want this exploded surface to be unselectable. Is there a way? If I lock the layer, it dims it, which I don't want. If I freeze the layer the exploded surface just disappears. Surely there's a simple solution ??

 

Thanks

 

- Mick

Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2015 SP1
Self-built i7-3930K, 16Gb RAM, P9X79 m/board
SSD(system), HDD(data), Win7Pro64, Quadro K4000 (and another with GTX680)

You can extract the Elevations from the surface rather than exploding the surface, then select the resulting solids to group them into a block if you want.

 

Turn off selection preview:

SelectionPreview.png

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,376
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 2 of 4 (106 Views)

Re: making a block (from exploded surface) un-selectable

12-13-2012 04:33 PM in reply to: autoMick

You can extract the Elevations from the surface rather than exploding the surface, then select the resulting solids to group them into a block if you want.

 

Turn off selection preview:

SelectionPreview.png

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Mentor
autoMick
Posts: 251
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
Message 3 of 4 (100 Views)

Re: making a block (from exploded surface) un-selectable

12-13-2012 04:42 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

Thanks Jeff - I'm embarrassed that I didn't find that myself. Exactly what I was after!

 

- Mick

Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2015 SP1
Self-built i7-3930K, 16Gb RAM, P9X79 m/board
SSD(system), HDD(data), Win7Pro64, Quadro K4000 (and another with GTX680)
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,376
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 4 of 4 (97 Views)

Re: making a block (from exploded surface) un-selectable

12-13-2012 04:44 PM in reply to: autoMick

Sure thing...see my edited post above

 

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.