AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
AEC_Cadd
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎05-04-2006
Message 1 of 7 (363 Views)

Lock Points

363 Views, 6 Replies
10-02-2012 09:39 AM

Is there a way to lock the X,Y location of points so that they don't get moved but still be able to change the point style fo the locked points?

Valued Mentor
Valued Mentor
sjg
Posts: 534
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 2 of 7 (357 Views)

Re: Lock Points

10-02-2012 10:14 AM in reply to: AEC_Cadd
If you import points through the survey database, they are automatically locked,. But if you just insert points or creating your own points, select one, right click, select lock points. You should be able to use select similar and lock multiple at once.
Steve Goessling
Land Consultants
Civil3D 2013
Windows 7, 64 bit
Intel i7 2600 @ 3.40Ghz
16 GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro 600
Distinguished Contributor
AEC_Cadd
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎05-04-2006
Message 3 of 7 (329 Views)

Re: Lock Points

10-03-2012 08:57 AM in reply to: sjg

Thanks Steve, but what I want to do is lock a group of points at their X,Y location but still be able to change their Label Style.

Valued Mentor
Valued Mentor
sjg
Posts: 534
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 4 of 7 (324 Views)

Re: Lock Points

10-03-2012 09:11 AM in reply to: AEC_Cadd
Create a point group, include the points you want to include. Right click point group, lock points. Points will be locked in X,Y and you can change the point and label style of the group.
Steve Goessling
Land Consultants
Civil3D 2013
Windows 7, 64 bit
Intel i7 2600 @ 3.40Ghz
16 GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro 600
Distinguished Contributor
AEC_Cadd
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎05-04-2006
Message 5 of 7 (320 Views)

Re: Lock Points

10-03-2012 09:31 AM in reply to: sjg

Steve

I did what you said but if you lock the points in a point group, there is no way to change the point style. I know you can lock the point group and still change the point style but you can also move the points. I want some way to lock the point X,Y location so that I don't accidently move a point but still be able to change the point style. Perhaps I am missing something. I tried it in both the Civil 3D 2010 and the Civil 3D 2013. There is a way to lock point locations in LDT and I want to be able to do the same kind of thing in Civil 3D.

Distinguished Mentor
rl_jackson
Posts: 752
Registered: ‎01-20-2008
Message 6 of 7 (316 Views)

Re: Lock Points

10-03-2012 09:40 AM in reply to: AEC_Cadd

I find that the best way to do this is to export the points and import them into a survey database, that way there locked and retained for import later into other drawings as needed.

C3D12-13
Win7x64 6gb
Distinguished Contributor
AEC_Cadd
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎05-04-2006
Message 7 of 7 (307 Views)

Re: Lock Points

10-03-2012 09:48 AM in reply to: rl_jackson

Thanks, I appreciate your help.

 

Bob

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.