Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Link between contour label lineweight and contour line lineweight

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
WeimsGuy
1895 Views, 8 Replies

Link between contour label lineweight and contour line lineweight

Does anyone have any comments or opinions (as if anyone does not) as to why the lineweight of a contour label text would be linked to the lineweight of the contour line itself?  Explicit example: changing the lineweight of the C-TOPO-MAJR-N layer affects both the contour line and the contour label text.  I will admit that I am new to Civil 3D (using 2012) and it took me some time to figure out that the two where linked in the standard styles.  I wanted the major contour lines to be thicker than the minor contour lines, but in doing so, the text label of the major contours became "blobs" on the output.  I had to go in a create new label styles that put both the major and minor contour label text on C-TOPO-TEXT before I could accomplish the desired results.  I got what I wanted, but had a severly brused forehead before doing so.  I just want other peoples opinions/experiences to avoid the head banging (read better way) on future encounters of getting Civil 3D contour labels to do what is desired.

Thanks in advanced.

Civil 3D 2012 SP4

DELL Vostro 460, Win-7 Pro 64-bit, Intel i7 quad-core, 16GB

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
odoshi
in reply to: WeimsGuy

I think the behavior you saw is standard, but probably not the best setup in the template. Looks like the contour components and contour labels shared the same layer by default in the template, so you were right in changing the labels to a text layer.

Regards,

Mike

Mike Caruso
Autodesk Certified Instructor 2014
AutoCAD/Civil 3D Autodesk Certified Professional 2014, 2015, 2018
www.whitemountaincad.com