AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
54 Posts
7 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-24-2012
Post 1 of 16
Accepted Solution

Linework and text, but not blocks and leaders, greyed out

641 Views, 15 Replies
12-11-2013 03:03 PM

Hi,

 

When I draw new linework and text it shows up greyed out, even though it should be showing up full tone.  Curiously, blocks that are inserted on the same layer as the linework and text come in full tone.  

 

The attached image provides an example of what's happening (it's difficult to see the greyed out text reading "TEST", the leader, and a sawtooth section of polyline). 

 

More info:

Xrefed drawings are displayed at full tone.

Linework from earlier sessions are displayed at full tone - this is only affecting new work.

This happens only in this drawing.  

This happens on different sessions of C3D (i.e. different computers). 

This happens on when drawing on any layer.

The layers are unlocked.

This occurs in both model and paperspace.

The drawing has been audited (no errors were found).

Everything prints out properly. 

 

I suspect there's a variable that deals with visibility has been inadverdantly changed in this particular drawing.  

 

Any ideas?  Thanks!

John Thoreson
C3D 2015

Well it's Transpearancy after all.

 

First thing done was select the top VP & open Properties Palette (which revaels) 90% Trans. is applied to the VP's.

 

Go to Transp. icon & Toggle it off and things appear normally.

 

I would change the values to zero at VP object level in Properties though.

 

trans.PNG

 

 

*Expert Elite*
2,775 Posts
463 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Post 2 of 16

Re: Linework and text, but not blocks and leaders, greyed out

12-11-2013 05:18 PM in reply to: johnthoreson
Has the Command COLOR possibly been set to a color other than Bylayer?
Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Valued Contributor
54 Posts
7 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-24-2012
Post 3 of 16

Re: Linework and text, but not blocks and leaders, greyed out

12-11-2013 05:32 PM in reply to: Jay_B

Hi Jay,

 

I just checked:  the command COLOR is set to BYLAYER.  

 

I changed COLOR to magenta and drew a polyline that was greyed out version of magenta on a layer assigned color "white" in the Layer Manager window, so it's working.  Something else is going on, though.

 

 

John Thoreson
C3D 2015
*Expert Elite*
2,775 Posts
463 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Post 4 of 16

Re: Linework and text, but not blocks and leaders, greyed out

12-11-2013 05:47 PM in reply to: johnthoreson
John,

One more thought, in layer manager, make sure transparency column is visible.
If there are values other than zero, change them to zero.
Transparency can also be toggled on on lower left of drawing but this toggle has no effect if set to zero.
Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Valued Contributor
54 Posts
7 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-24-2012
Post 5 of 16

Re: Linework and text, but not blocks and leaders, greyed out

12-11-2013 06:07 PM in reply to: Jay_B

Hi Jay,

 

All that transparency values are set to 0.  Good idea, though.  That's a new one to me.

John Thoreson
C3D 2015
*Expert Elite*
2,775 Posts
463 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Post 6 of 16

Re: Linework and text, but not blocks and leaders, greyed out

12-11-2013 06:37 PM in reply to: johnthoreson
Hmm, if there are viewports in play click into MS of Viewport, open layer manager and see if any VPtransparency
Is applied.?

Could also try creating a Wblock and choose "Entire Drawing" option using 0,0,0 for insertion point.
Create a New drawing from your Dwt.
Insert the block into the new drawing at 0,0,0 and Explode the block

That may set things back to normal.
Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
*Expert Elite*
3,044 Posts
245 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Post 7 of 16

Re: Linework and text, but not blocks and leaders, greyed out

12-12-2013 07:57 AM in reply to: johnthoreson

Does this correct if you toggle hardware acceleration on/off?

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Valued Contributor
54 Posts
7 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-24-2012
Post 8 of 16

Re: Linework and text, but not blocks and leaders, greyed out

12-12-2013 09:58 AM in reply to: Jay_B

Hi Jay,

 

VP Transparency in the viewports are all set to "0".  

 

New lines and text come in full tone after the Wblock of the entire drawing is inserted into a new drawing, however the greyed out issue persists with text, leaders, and dimensions that were drafted in the original drawing.

 

 

John Thoreson
C3D 2015
Valued Contributor
54 Posts
7 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-24-2012
Post 9 of 16

Re: Linework and text, but not blocks and leaders, greyed out

12-12-2013 10:02 AM in reply to: jmayo

Hi John,

 

The issue persists after turning hardware acceleration on and off.

John Thoreson
C3D 2015
*Expert Elite*
2,775 Posts
463 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Post 10 of 16

Re: Linework and text, but not blocks and leaders, greyed out

12-12-2013 10:05 AM in reply to: johnthoreson

Can you post the drawing or at least a portion of it that has this issue?

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!