AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
featho
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎11-05-2006
Message 1 of 11 (600 Views)
Accepted Solution

Lines show up as foggy grey but don't have that property

600 Views, 10 Replies
10-02-2012 05:15 PM

The above sums it all up. Note the properties are NOT GREY they are what they are supposed to be.

 

The file was created in version 2012 by another designer now it is being completed in 2013 by myself.

 

I can do a quick fix by creating a wblock of the problem lines and text etc to enable a print out without the GREYING

problem but once the drawing is closed and opened once again the drawing has GREYED whatever is in model space again.  (note that xrefed lines etc are fine)

 

Please help me fix this.

 

Regards

 

Carla Featherstone

 

Ps I have attached the problem file with all the xrefs and jaz unattached/taken off etc

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,125
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 11 (593 Views)

Re: Lines show up as foggy grey but don't have that property

10-02-2012 06:55 PM in reply to: featho

dumb question but I'll ask it.

 

I dont have cad handy but in the plot settings is "display plot styles" checked?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,481
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 3 of 11 (584 Views)

Re: Lines show up as foggy grey but don't have that property

10-02-2012 07:50 PM in reply to: featho

I don't know what causes this, or how to correct it, but the 2d Wireframe Visual Style is messed up. Chnage to any other visual style and the linework shows correctly, change it back the the 2d wireframe and it gets hosed. You can work around it by inserting the drawing into a new drawing, then use Design Center to bring in the layouts.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Active Contributor
featho
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎11-05-2006
Message 4 of 11 (556 Views)

Re: Lines show up as foggy grey but don't have that property

10-03-2012 04:18 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

No it isn't checked

 

Edited by
Discussion_Admin

 

Active Contributor
featho
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎11-05-2006
Message 5 of 11 (550 Views)

Re: Lines show up as foggy grey but don't have that property

10-03-2012 05:57 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

Thanks Jeff I'm pretty sure that inserting into another drawing doesn't work too. That was interesting about the wireframe. Not sure what to do still Thanks for your time Carla

 

 

Edited by
Discussion_Admin

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,481
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 6 of 11 (548 Views)

Re: Lines show up as foggy grey but don't have that property

10-03-2012 06:22 PM in reply to: featho

Carla, I tested the inserting to another drawing, using your drawing, and did work for me. Perhaps your template has the same issue? Could you try with a different dwt?

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Active Contributor
featho
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎11-05-2006
Message 7 of 11 (546 Views)

Re: Lines show up as foggy grey but don't have that property

10-03-2012 06:25 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

So you inserted a wblock into another drawing? Is that right? I will give that a go now to check it Talk soon

 

Edited by
Discussion_Admin

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,481
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 8 of 11 (536 Views)

Re: Lines show up as foggy grey but don't have that property

10-03-2012 07:48 PM in reply to: featho

I just started a new drawing, then used INSERT to insert your entire drawing into the new one.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Member
bobwesterman
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-16-2008
Message 9 of 11 (509 Views)

Re: Lines show up as foggy grey but don't have that property

10-05-2012 05:14 PM in reply to: featho

I just read this post about an hour ago:

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D/text-and-line-work-in-model-space-turns-gray-when-I-r...

 

Sound about the same to me.

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,481
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 10 of 11 (503 Views)

Re: Lines show up as foggy grey but don't have that property

10-05-2012 06:06 PM in reply to: bobwesterman

Sure enough. It's late Friday afternoon and I can say I learned something today! :smileyhappy:

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!