AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
asloat
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎06-07-2011
Message 1 of 6 (130 Views)

Lines not printing behind screen

130 Views, 5 Replies
01-17-2013 05:44 AM

Has anyone seen this before and possibly know a solution?

 

I have a drawing with a screen and behind it is an xref drawing. When I print it to our KIP plotter the lines and other items behind the screen do not plot.

 

Here is how it is setup and what I have tried

 

The Xref itself is on its own layer and all the layers of the xref are set to a color that has thickness of .0138 and a 35% screen.

 

The hatch resides in the active drawing and is set to a color that is also .0138 thick but at a 20% screen.

 

The hatch is a DOT hatch at scale 1, but I have also tried it as a solid hatch

 

Lines merge is on and needs to be on.

 

I have made sure that the hatch is sent to the back and that there is no overlapping of data from other sources liek a second hatch or the same data in another xref etc.

 

I also tried setting the xref layers to another color that is .0256 thick with a 35% screen, but the results where the same. If i change the xref layers to a .0138 thick color with 100% screen, they do print over the hatch then.

 

I have also found that if I use the same plotter but with a post script drive, it does work as setup, though that creates other issues that are not ideal.

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,348
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 2 of 6 (124 Views)

Re: Lines not printing behind screen

01-17-2013 06:24 AM in reply to: asloat

In the plotter settings, do you have it set to Lines Overwrite, or Lines Merge?

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Valued Contributor
asloat
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎06-07-2011
Message 3 of 6 (122 Views)

Re: Lines not printing behind screen

01-17-2013 06:33 AM in reply to: TRogers
We use "lines merge" for a variety of reasons, though I need to toggle it on each time I plot as we are not currently using PC3s.
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,348
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 4 of 6 (121 Views)

Re: Lines not printing behind screen

01-17-2013 06:34 AM in reply to: asloat

You might want to try Lines Overwrite.  See if that works...

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Valued Contributor
asloat
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎06-07-2011
Message 5 of 6 (120 Views)

Re: Lines not printing behind screen

01-17-2013 06:36 AM in reply to: TRogers
Lines overwrite is not an option for my company.
Member
g.diazfonseca
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-27-2012
Message 6 of 6 (111 Views)

Re: Lines not printing behind screen

01-17-2013 07:41 AM in reply to: asloat

There is not much different between 20% and 35% screen. Try using a 40% or 50% instead, also if the hatch is in his on layer assign a transparency value to it (that may help, but turn on transparency on the plot settings)

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.