AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
willpyle7693
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎12-29-2010
Message 1 of 6 (1,566 Views)

Lines by bearing input

1566 Views, 5 Replies
01-22-2013 01:02 PM

when trying to input the bearing in degrees minutes and seconds I have to input (for example) 89%%d49'38". how do i change it so i can input ddmmss?

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,642
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 2 of 6 (1,553 Views)

Re: Lines by bearing input

01-22-2013 02:07 PM in reply to: willpyle7693

This depends on which routine you're using to draw the line. Using just AutoCAD commands, you're doing it the right way. Civil 3D makes it easier.

 

After you start the line command, pick the start point and then at the Next Point prompt, type 'bd <enter> -- include the apostrophe. Civil 3D will prompt for quadrant (1-4), then Bearing and then distance. Bearing can be input as 45.4545 to mean 45 deg 45 min 45 sec.

 

 

 

 

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Member
randyc
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 6 (1,549 Views)

Re: Lines by bearing input

01-22-2013 02:34 PM in reply to: tcorey

As an alternate method, go to the Ribbon, select the Home tab and find the Line button on the "Draw" palette.  From the menu, select "Create Line by Bearing".  You will be prompted for your quadrant, bearing and distance (as willpyle7693 instructed above).  One further note, if your bearing has decimal seconds (i.e., 39D 45' 28.72") you may enter the decimal portion like so: 39.452872.

Distinguished Contributor
Chasethewind
Posts: 213
Registered: ‎12-04-2008
Message 4 of 6 (1,540 Views)

Re: Lines by bearing input

01-22-2013 03:32 PM in reply to: willpyle7693

I think you are after.

 

Drawing Settings  ---> Ambient Settings ---> Direction

Valued Contributor
willpyle7693
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎12-29-2010
Message 5 of 6 (1,455 Views)

Re: Lines by bearing input

02-05-2013 11:48 AM in reply to: Chasethewind

Forgive me, but where do you find that drawing settings box?

Valued Contributor
willpyle7693
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎12-29-2010
Message 6 of 6 (1,447 Views)

Re: Lines by bearing input

02-05-2013 11:54 AM in reply to: Chasethewind

nevermind i found it thanks

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.