AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
meganbell
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-10-2011
Message 1 of 13 (5,179 Views)
Accepted Solution

Line Type will not display

5179 Views, 12 Replies
02-01-2012 05:54 AM

I'm having trouble with the line type dissappearing or showing as Continuous when I print. It also does not appear to be the same size on different lines, even though the type, scale etc. are all the same.

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,311
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 2 of 13 (5,172 Views)

Re: Line Type will not display

02-01-2012 06:18 AM in reply to: meganbell

Does the line have an elevation to it?  Are you plotting from a layout?

 

If it has elevation to it, it will be skewed and look like a continuous line in some areas.

 

If it's from a layout, change your PSLTSCALE to 0.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Distinguished Contributor
albionpjl
Posts: 900
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 3 of 13 (5,065 Views)

Re: Line Type will not display

07-17-2012 08:50 AM in reply to: TRogers

I am having this exact same problem and changing PSLTSCALE  has not solved it.

My drawing (in model space) has a series of lines across it with different colours and linetypes, but on my layout the lines are all continuous and that is how they print out.

I have ltscale set to 1000.

In drawing settings the units are set to metres and the custom scale is 1:1 (If that is important). Layout scale is 1 paper mm to 4 drawing metres.

Other info:- the polylines are part of a block.

 

I really need the linetypes to show in the print because I ran out of colours to use and those same colours (with continuous lines) have keyed to other things.

 

 

I rarely use layouts and maybe there is something simple I have overlooked but I can't find it.

 

Any suggestions?

 

ps I can't upload the entire file, partly because it's huge and partly because some of the content is confidential, however the particular block is not confidential so I have deleted and purged everything else and attached just the block. All settings remain inchanged.

*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,823
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 4 of 13 (5,053 Views)

Re: Line Type will not display

07-17-2012 09:40 AM in reply to: albionpjl

Set LTSCALE = 1

Set PSLTSCALE = 1

 

works for the linetype.

 

Bill

 

Distinguished Contributor
albionpjl
Posts: 900
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 5 of 13 (5,032 Views)

Re: Line Type will not display

07-18-2012 02:05 AM in reply to: wfberry

Thank you very much Bill.

I KNEW it was something to do with the different scalings of the model and the layout, but couldn't figure it out.

That worked nicely. The linetypes in the model space are now solid, but that doesn't matter so long as the layout is right..

Thanks again.

regards,

PJ

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,303
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 13 (5,022 Views)

Re: Line Type will not display

07-18-2012 05:31 AM in reply to: albionpjl

albionpjl wrote:

The linetypes in the model space are now solid....


A couple of options to fix this.

 

(1) Set LTSCALE ≈ Drawing scale, and PSLTSCALE = 0 (unless you have multiple viewports in your layout with varying scales)

(2) Set MSLTSCALE = 1 and make sure your Annotation Scale it set correctly.

Distinguished Contributor
albionpjl
Posts: 900
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 7 of 13 (5,016 Views)

Re: Line Type will not display

07-18-2012 06:59 AM in reply to: rkmcswain

Thanks, but the first one doesn't alter anything at all, and I have no idea what to do with annotation scale because I don't use it. Don't know what it currently is or how to alter it.

 

Drawing scale is 1, Ltscale is 1, and changing psltscale between 1 and zero makes no discernable difference. Msltscale is also 1.

 

Doesn't really matter because the layout prints fine now.

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,311
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 8 of 13 (5,014 Views)

Re: Line Type will not display

07-18-2012 07:00 AM in reply to: albionpjl

These won't make a difference unless you REGEN or REA (regen all).

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Distinguished Contributor
albionpjl
Posts: 900
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 9 of 13 (5,006 Views)

Re: Line Type will not display

07-18-2012 08:05 AM in reply to: TRogers

Nope, doesn't make any difference. Thanks for trying anyway.

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,303
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 10 of 13 (5,003 Views)

Re: Line Type will not display

07-18-2012 08:19 AM in reply to: albionpjl

albionpjl wrote:

Thanks, but the first one doesn't alter anything at all.... 

 

Probably because MSLTSCALE = 1

 

....and I have no idea what to do with annotation scale because I don't use it. Don't know what it currently is or how to alter it.   Drawing scale is 1, Ltscale is 1, and changing psltscale between 1 and zero makes no discernable difference. Msltscale is also 1.

 

If you don't know what your annotation scale is or how to change it, then you should probably set MSLTSCALE to 0. When itis set to 1, the linetypes are being scaled by the current annotation scale.  


 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.