AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
sshea
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-14-2011
Message 1 of 7 (199 Views)

Line Label issue

199 Views, 6 Replies
07-30-2012 06:48 AM

I have created six different line labels to show different information in parts of a drawing. They are  all on layer BNDY-TXT layer which was used when labeling. They all indicate the appropriate the appropriate Component Name is VISIBLE and display in model space. However only some of the labels display in paper space and others don't, even though they are all on the same layer Is there a setting in need to change.

Valued Mentor
IanMcClain
Posts: 460
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 2 of 7 (185 Views)

Re: Line Label issue

07-30-2012 09:02 AM in reply to: sshea

Are the objects being labled thawed? I recentley discovered if you label a line, then freeze the line the label will disappear, even if it is on another unfrozen layer.

-Ian McClain
(running C3D 2012 sp4, Win7 64bit, 8GB)
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 3,001
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 7 (180 Views)

Re: Line Label issue

07-30-2012 09:14 AM in reply to: IanMcClain

If this is the case set the layer to no-plot instead of using vpfreeze.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Contributor
sshea
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-14-2011
Message 4 of 7 (178 Views)

Re: Line Label issue

07-30-2012 09:15 AM in reply to: IanMcClain
Thank you for the idea, however the line (on layer Defpoints, label on BNDY-TXT) is on in the viewport and still does not show. Other labels which include both direction and distance display in the paper space view port. The missing label is the distance along the short segment along the northerly boundary line (top of snipit) as the bearing and overall distance are display for the total length. Do you have any other ideas. Thanks in advance. [cid:image001.png@01CD6E4C.F26CD140] Steven Shea Civil/Site Engineering, Inc. 815 Orienta Avenue Suite 1060 Altamonte Springs, FL 32701 T: 407.644.6570 F: 407.644.8945 C: 321.277.0836
Valued Mentor
IanMcClain
Posts: 460
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 5 of 7 (176 Views)

Re: Line Label issue

07-30-2012 09:18 AM in reply to: sshea

Yes, try moving the line off of the defpoints layer. That layer behaves funny, and I've heard it acts as though it is frozen even when it isn't. I've always avoided using the defpionts layer because of issues like these.

-Ian McClain
(running C3D 2012 sp4, Win7 64bit, 8GB)
*Expert Elite*
MarySeufert
Posts: 586
Registered: ‎04-19-2011
Message 6 of 7 (175 Views)

Re: Line Label issue

07-30-2012 09:22 AM in reply to: sshea

sshea wrote:
 the line (on layer Defpoints, label on BNDY-TXT) is on in the viewport and still does not show.

Since the line is on Defpoints, also check layer '0'. Best practice is to not use Defpoints, but instead use a layer set to not plot.

 

~ Mary


_______________________________________________________________________
Normal people believe that if it ain't broke, don't fix it.
Software Engineers believe that if it ain't broke, it doesn't have enough features yet.
Contributor
sshea
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-14-2011
Message 7 of 7 (168 Views)

Re: Line Label issue

07-30-2012 09:31 AM in reply to: IanMcClain

Thanks for your assistance I believe the problem is solved by changing the label association line to a different layer and then freezing in plot configuration.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!