AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
kgrover
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎09-06-2007
Message 1 of 9 (1,247 Views)

LiDAR Classification

1247 Views, 8 Replies
08-17-2010 06:20 AM

I have several LAS files that I have brought into AutoCAD and created PCG point cloud files. You have the option to assign Civil3D properties so I assign the LAS classification properties but they don't apply to the file.

 

The classification style seems to work with the ISD file extension in Civil3D, but do the LAS classifications not work for the PCG format?? I can only view the PCG file by single color or by elevation range, not by classification.

 

Kevin

Distinguished Contributor
mnorton
Posts: 131
Registered: ‎04-13-2009
Message 2 of 9 (1,233 Views)

Re: LiDAR Classification

08-17-2010 08:26 AM in reply to: kgrover

Try contacting Travis Reinke at scanable.org

Mike Norton - The Civil Guy
www.thecivilguy.com

Civil 3D 2014 (64)
Windows 7 Pro (64) SP1, 16 GB
AMD Radeon HD 6900
Contributor
lisa_pohlmeyer
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 3 of 9 (1,195 Views)

Re: LiDAR Classification

08-18-2010 02:27 PM in reply to: kgrover

If you'll go through the quick tutorial on Point Clouds, I think you'll find exactly what you're looking for.

Valued Contributor
kgrover
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎09-06-2007
Message 4 of 9 (1,191 Views)

Re: LiDAR Classification

08-18-2010 02:57 PM in reply to: lisa_pohlmeyer

I have seen the tutorials but does not answer my question I posted.

 

I can view point clouds by classification if I bring the LAS file into a .isd point cloud file. I can assign a Civil3D style to the point cloud and can view by color, classification or elevation range.

 

I can't view point clouds by classification if I bring the LAS file into a .pcg file extension and add Civil3D properties to it. Everything only views as a single color or elevation range. It does not view classification.

 

Is this just a bug in Civil3D right now that the classifications don't come accross in the .pcg database??

*Expert Elite*
LisaPohlmeyer
Posts: 563
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
Message 5 of 9 (1,186 Views)

Re: LiDAR Classification

08-18-2010 04:30 PM in reply to: kgrover

ah, I misunderstood, sorry.

Lisa Pohlmeyer

C3D 2012 SP4, C3D 2015
Please use "Accept as Solution" if this solved your issue.
Contributor
sharshbarger
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎10-27-2008
Message 6 of 9 (633 Views)

Re: LiDAR Classification

05-23-2012 01:54 PM in reply to: kgrover

I'm having the same issue.  It works in 2012 just fine, but in 2013, it does NOT work.  When using Lidar data, unchecking all classifications except 2-ground, all point still show and they are gray in color.  I can't create a base ground surface with all points displayed.

 

I've opened a support request so we'll see what turns up out of that and I'll post my findings.

 

Contributor
sharshbarger
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎10-27-2008
Message 7 of 9 (614 Views)

Re: LiDAR Classification

05-24-2012 07:29 AM in reply to: sharshbarger

Update:

 

Straight from Autodesk Tech.

 

This issue you are reporting with the LiDAR Point Classification Style is a known issue with the 2013 product. I personally had logged this with Development a few weeks ago and it is currently under review with our Development Team.

Unfortunately there is not any known workaround for the time being, as attempting to import the same style from 2012 yields the same results. (BUT it works in 2012) I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

As I mentioned on the phone I have logged this with Development for further review and I have linked this case to it. Per our policy we will now go ahead and close this case, leaving it linked to Development’s issue.

 

Very frustrated with Autodesk.  Why bring out an updated product each year and not fix the pre-existing issues?!?!?  Every update brings more issues to deal with.  Just my opinion.

Active Contributor
jeremy.2012
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎03-12-2012
Message 8 of 9 (534 Views)

Re: LiDAR Classification

10-03-2012 06:58 AM in reply to: sharshbarger

Has anybody heard if Autodesk has offered any service pack or anything to fix this issue?

Mentor
ceethreedee.com
Posts: 176
Registered: ‎10-04-2012
Message 9 of 9 (442 Views)

Re: LiDAR Classification

12-17-2012 07:09 PM in reply to: jeremy.2012

Yep still wiating for FIX!???

Civil 3D 2014 (SP2)
Win 7 Pro x64 -DELL Precision Workstation T3500
Intel Xeon 3.3GHz (w3680) -24Gb Ram
NVIDIA Quadro 2000 (1GB)
ceethreedee.com
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.