AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,176
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 11 of 15 (152 Views)

Re: Lets start the day off with more "Fatal Errors"

07-13-2012 05:50 AM in reply to: JeffWright5789

You can find the path on the Files tab in Options. I usually reset it to my own path.

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,225
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 12 of 15 (139 Views)

Re: Lets start the day off with more "Fatal Errors"

07-13-2012 08:09 AM in reply to: JeffWright5789

For Win 7 users the default location should be C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Local\Temp

 

IMHO checking and clearing out this folder should be part of the normal system maintenance for all ACad users.  Mine has not been giving me any problems but I still had 532 files and 678MB of junk to get rid of.

Valued Contributor
JeffWright5789
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎03-03-2011
Message 13 of 15 (128 Views)

Re: Lets start the day off with more "Fatal Errors"

07-13-2012 11:31 AM in reply to: sboon
Dump everything under the "TEMP" folder....?
Appreciate all the help from the Forum
Version: AutoCAD C3D 2010
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,225
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 14 of 15 (127 Views)

Re: Lets start the day off with more "Fatal Errors"

07-13-2012 11:38 AM in reply to: JeffWright5789

Yup - dump it all.  Windows won't let you delete any files that are actively being used by programs.

*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 15 of 15 (120 Views)

Re: Lets start the day off with more "Fatal Errors"

07-13-2012 01:18 PM in reply to: JeffWright5789

JeffWright5789 wrote:

 

Our solution ->  call Bentley.



In my experience, that software crashes at least as much.  And given that I've used AutoCAD for a lot longer, I find Microstation very frustrating.  It often takes me a couple of hours to do a task that I can do in C3D in a few seconds.  Although I've heard that people who start with the MicroStation products have the similar problems when they try to use C3D.

 

C3D 2010 did tend to crash a lot.  Not as much as earlier releases, but it wasn't all that stable.  C3D 2011 also has lots of problems that were fixed in C3D 2012.  C3D 2013 has introduced a bunch of new nightmares.  So far, I recommend moving to C3D 2012...  It rarely crashes on me, and doesn't have all the "surprises" of C3D 2013.  After C3D 2013 SP1 is released, then that might change, but I find C3D 2012 to be the most productive at the moment.

Sinc
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.