Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Learning Microstation?

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
deltacoolguy
3783 Views, 3 Replies

Learning Microstation?

I have over 20 years experience in Acad, going back to DCA, and the last 2-3 years in C3D.

I have ZERO exeprience in Microstation.

An unusual number of engineers around here use Microstation exclusively.  If I were to be offered a position with one of them, what would be a reasonable time frame for learning Microstation to get to a point where I could be productive?

Roughly, just trying to get a ballpark figure.

Windows 10-64 Pro
8GB RAM (Home)
12GB RAM (Work)
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2019
3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
Jay_B
in reply to: deltacoolguy

I had learn Microstation and used it almost exclusively for several years. I would say 3 to 6 months with adequate support around you and say a 3 day entry level training class. Add a design software to the mix then maybe a bit longer to become truly proficient.

C3D 2018.1
C3D 2016 SP4

Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Message 3 of 4
Neilw_05

It will depend on several factors:

Will you have a go-to person for support or will you be learning on your own?

Are you going to learn while working on live projects or are you going to follow some sort of training program?

How much time will you be spending each day in it?