AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
S**t_Just_Got_Real
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-25-2008
Message 1 of 9 (329 Views)
Accepted Solution

Layer Pulldown (toolbar)

329 Views, 8 Replies
05-23-2012 04:59 AM

In what order do the layers show up in the pulldiwn?  They are not in the same order as the dialog box....this is annoying and makes it very hard to find layers. 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,988
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 9 (326 Views)

Re: Layer Pulldown (toolbar)

05-23-2012 05:22 AM in reply to: S**t_Just_Got_Real

Hi,

 

I know some places for "layer pulldown" and a lot of places for layers in a "dialog box", could you give us a little bit more feeling to what dialogs/pulldowns you are speaking?

 

To layername-sorting generally: look to sysvar MAXSORT (>>>details<<<)

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Contributor
S**t_Just_Got_Real
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-25-2008
Message 3 of 9 (325 Views)

Re: Layer Pulldown (toolbar)

05-23-2012 05:28 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Its th pulldown or flyout or whatever you want to call it, on the standard Layers Toolbar.  The dialog box or the Layer Properties Manager can be sorted by anything, name, color, etc.  I perfer it sorted by name but the pulldown is all out of order.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,988
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 9 (320 Views)

Re: Layer Pulldown (toolbar)

05-23-2012 05:55 AM in reply to: S**t_Just_Got_Real

Hi,

 

....and have you tried MAXSORT?

 

>> Its th pulldown or flyout or whatever you want to call it, on the standard Layers Toolbar.

"on the Layers Toolsbar" and "Layer Properties Manager" would have been the hints (in your first message) :smileywink:

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Contributor
S**t_Just_Got_Real
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-25-2008
Message 5 of 9 (316 Views)

Re: Layer Pulldown (toolbar)

05-23-2012 06:02 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Its set to 1000...the default.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,988
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 6 of 9 (311 Views)

Re: Layer Pulldown (toolbar)

05-23-2012 06:21 AM in reply to: S**t_Just_Got_Real

Hi,

 

>> Its set to 1000...the default

And when you set it to 5000, then restart AutoCAD, open your drawing, is it then sorted?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Contributor
S**t_Just_Got_Real
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-25-2008
Message 7 of 9 (308 Views)

Re: Layer Pulldown (toolbar)

05-23-2012 06:28 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Looks like that did the trick.  I've only been using Civil 3D for 2 weeks...I was kind of thrown into it without a lot of stuff being set up....so my brain is a little fried.  Thank you!!

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,988
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 8 of 9 (305 Views)

Re: Layer Pulldown (toolbar)

05-23-2012 06:31 AM in reply to: S**t_Just_Got_Real

Hi,

 

>> I've only been using Civil 3D for 2 weeks

no problem when you just started into it. It's usual not to know the exact words for some dialogs at the beginning. In that case create a screenshot and upload it with the message so we can see what you are speaking about. .... for the next question :smileywink:

 

Have a nice day, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Contributor
S**t_Just_Got_Real
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-25-2008
Message 9 of 9 (299 Views)

Re: Layer Pulldown (toolbar)

05-23-2012 06:47 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

You got it.  Thanks again.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.